Decaying Beauty – photos by Carey Primeau

As many people know, I have a love of abandoned buildings and spend a lot of time photographing them. However, I don’t think I will EVER be as accomplished in capturing them quite like Carey Primeau. These photos are so awesomely (and sadly) stunning.

unFILED - Carey Primeau

unFILED - Carey Primeau

“When I was introduced to photography many years ago I instantly knew it was a medium that fit my personality perfectly. Photography quickly became an outlet for communication, an illustration for my ideas that sometimes were too complicated for me to put in words.

With a camera in my hand and a bike below my feet, I live, work and play in the City of Chicago in the same way that my mother, father, grandparents, and great grandparents have.

Most of the photographs featured here are from the Neglected Beauty Project that I have been working on for the past 4 years. By inspiring dialogue about forgotten historic structures, there is hope that the general public and our politicians will once again learn to appreciate their existence. Historical buildings are crucial for future generations because they not only provide direct connections to our past, but can be focal points for a shared cultural experience in the future.”

No. 2 pencil ONLY - Carey Primeau

No. 2 pencil ONLY - Carey Primeau

Centrality Amongst Chaos - Carey Primeau

Centrality Amongst Chaos - Carey Primeau

Leave a Reply

