PhotoHunter: In Memory

This week’s PhotoHunt Theme is “In Memory”. Since I have posted a few blogs lately in the more serious vein about personal loses and keeping the memory alive of certain loses, I decided to go in a more “photographic only” direction.

I have a particular fascination with abandoned buildings as well as cemeteries. If I can find an abandoned cemetery… so much the better!

Here are a few particular favorites, including a brand new (as in just found) cemetery.

Lichen on Moss

Lichen on Moss

Blue Church Burying Ground

photohunter7iq1The link is broken at themoment. Check it out when it is fixed!

Tree of Zeran

Tree of Zeran

South of Newington

Patience and Experience

Patience and Experience

Sheldon’s Corners (The burial place of Mother Barnes, The “witch” of Plum Hollow)

Point the Way

Point the Way

Methodist Cemetery, near Beckett’s Landing

"Relocated"

"Relocated"

The Cardinal Cemetery was relocated during the building of the St. Lawrence Seaway. Other cemeteries lie drowned under the waters.

Fuzzy Lamb of God

Fuzzy Lamb of God

Bolton Cemetery

8 Comments

  1. May 10, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    thanks for your great photos! I swear I have visited more cemeteries today than I have in my whole life previously! These were wonderful photos.

  2. azahar said,

    May 10, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Love the fuzzy lamb of god. Nice shots, as always.

  3. magiceye said,

    May 9, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    wonderfully grave shots!

  4. JC said,

    May 9, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Those are some of the most interesting I’ve seen and am now musing how cool it would have been to have Patience and Experience resting side by side…

    I’m sorry about your personal losses… those can be difficult to overcome in many cases. Take care 🙂

    • mudhooks said,

      May 9, 2009 at 8:33 pm

      Thanks. This cemetery had a number of these wonderful names.

  5. May 9, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Great shots. I love old graveyards, especially when the stones are weathered and covered in lichen or ivy. Happy weekend

    • mudhooks said,

      May 9, 2009 at 8:34 pm

      Orange seems to be the most common colour besides sort of grey-blue.


Leave a comment