Ten things about me….

1 ) I am larger than a bread box and smaller than a house

2 ) My mother needed a Cesarean section when I was born. We lived in a small village (Wakefield, Quebec) and the old doctor there had never done one. Luckily, his son (also a doctor) had trained in doing them in his internship. Unfortunately, in Quebec at that time, a woman was considered chattel and my mother couldn’t sign for her own surgery. Women had to have a husband or father sign, even if they were single and living alone. Unless they reached my father, no surgery — even if my mother and I were going to die. Luckily, after several hours, a neighbour was contacted and let my father know and he was able to sign for the surgery.

3 ) A friend used to called me “Annekedote” because I have a lot of anecdotes.

4 ) a teacher once told me that I needed to “specialize”. “A Jack of all trades is a master of none.” he said. In fact, I have gotten every job I ever had because I know a little about a lot of things and can turn my hand to almost anything.

5 ) I have a mole on my right calf and my niece has one the same size , in the same place, on the same leg.

6 ) I have 9 siblings (now 8, as one died), none of whom share both my parents,  only 4 share the same two parents, and two who aren’t related to me at all….

7 ) I have been yelled at by a member of the British peerage.

8 ) I can’t stand cabbage rolls. They make me sick.

9 ) I can’t eat iceberg lettuce, bean sprouts or alfalfa sprouts.

10 ) I was born with blonde, blonde tightly curled hair. My hair is now dark brown and dead straight – so fine that it won’t hold a curl or a perm.

2 Comments

  1. May 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    […] Ten things about me…. […]

  2. May 5, 2009 at 7:57 am

    This is a great way to get to know someone….


Leave a Reply

