Photo Hunt: Square

I’m not entirely sure that I feel much like participating in anything this week… it’s been very stressful. Not only are taxes due to be done, but it is the end of the month and I have to get my timesheets and reports done for the end of the month. As well, as I have alluded to, there is some crap that I am dealing with in the co-op and I am struggling to deal with things that are just plain stupid. Well, I am not alone. But since I am on the Board, a lot falls on me because I am home all day so can get and make calls and emails.

However, a friend pointed out that it ISN’T all up to me and that things will unfold as they will. I take too much on for myself and I should just breathe and concentrate on other things. So I am.

Now. Having said all that, here is my contribution to “Square”… I posted this before for “Miniature“. However, since I now have an update on that previous post, just in the last two weeks, I thought I would use it again. As someone has pointed out, I failed to say what the “square” is!  It is a powder compact from the 1960s that my mother has had, probably since it was new and probably bought in New York City.

In my previous post, I had done some research which led me to believe that this is an enamel by the artist Karl Drerup. I was pretty sure that it looked like other images of his work.

Sure enough, two weeks ago, I received a comment on the original post from Karl Drerup’s son, Oliver who confirmed that it IS a piece by his father! We actually live in the same city and we are going to meet up so he can show me some catalogues of his father’s work! It is a small pleasant world.

Well worth remembering when you are in the midst of a week from Hell and dealing with idiots.

12 Comments

  1. May 1, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    That’s a beautiful square indeed!

  2. Mama Zen said,

    May 1, 2011 at 1:44 am

    That’s lovely!

  3. Liz said,

    April 30, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    The most beautiful square I’ve seen today. 🙂

    Have a fabulous weekend!

    Liz @ MLC

  4. gitwizard said,

    April 30, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    That’s a beautiful piece, I had to go to your ‘Miniature’ link to work out what it was though.

  5. Sue St Clair said,

    April 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    I remember that and it is lovely 🙂 I too was having a real up and down week and I will have to remind myself to let things unfold as they will….its good advice 🙂

  6. Jerry said,

    April 30, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    That is a beautiful square – how exciting that you’ll be able to meet the artist’s son.

    Have a good weekend.

  7. azahar said,

    April 30, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    How cool!

  8. Mar said,

    April 30, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Lovely miniature! enjoy the weekend and …just relax 😉

  9. YTSL said,

    April 30, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Hope your work stress gets alleviated soon. In the meantime, am glad you chimed in with an entry on this week’s Photo Hunt. 🙂

  10. April 30, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    There are bonuses to blogging in general and photo hunting in particular. I posted a photograph of an ancestor about two years ago on photo hunt and this past week saw a distant relative on a distant continent get in touch with me. Two long separated strands of my family are at last in touch. The last contact would have been around 160 years ago!

    • mudhooks said,

      May 1, 2011 at 2:14 am

      I have already posted about finding some photos on line which exactly match some “unknown” photos I have had in a locket all my life. That led to being able to link up a while extended branch of the family of which I knew only a couple of names we knew for sure,

      Then, there was the finding of my GGgrandfather’s Civil War medal via a posting on line about his unit.

  11. magiceye said,

    April 30, 2011 at 11:26 am

    the pleasurable advantages of blogging!


Leave a comment