Today

I tendered my resignation from the Board of Directors, today, citing health reasons which is the case. My blood pressure is sky high and I haven’t been sleeping properly – if at all. As I was typing the first line of this post, my doorbell rang and it was the President of the Board telling me that he wouldn’t accept it for two weeks so if I changed my mind I could rescind my offer. I don’t have to concern myself with Board matters, except where a vote is needed or a cheque to be signed. I am willing to do that. At least the offer is still on the table.

I truly enjoy working with three of the members. They are terrific. Unfortunately, because of an ongoing situation which has meant for stress since the previous Board was elected (of which I was also a member) the stress has built and built. I said that if my health was compromised, it mean that I wasn’t in the best position to care for my mother. She (and my own health) is my primary concern.

So, we shall see how things go in the next few weeks. I don’t suspect that the problem that is causing the stress is going to go away and I suspect it will get more serious (which really is unfortunate because someone will lose in the long-run – not us). I just need to concentrate on my own health and that of my mother’s.

I feel a LOT better now that I put it on the table and hope that things resolve. I just can’t put myself through much more.