Photo Hunt: Triangle

This weeks Photo Hunt theme is “Triangle”…

Since I haven’t been out and about recently (due to Mom’s having been sick last weekend as well as preparing for her 87th birthday party tomorrow) I am falling back on some old photos (pretty much as usual) but they are favourites.

Floating Heart (Nymphoides aquatica)

Although they grow in most temperate areas of North America and Asia, Trilliums are the official wildflower of Ontario. It is illegal to pick or dig up Trilliums in their wild state in federal and provincial parks (partly because doing so damages the plant and they were, at one time endangered in this province). It is absolutely illegal to pick “Nodding Trilliums” (I know I took some photos last spring of some Nodding Trilliums but can’t find them…). Trilliums are, however, available from nurseries so you can enjoy them in your own garden. They are one of the first wildflowers to be seen in spring and last only a week or so.

Red Trillium (Trillium erectum)

White Trillium (Trillium grandiflorum)

12 Comments

  1. srp said,

    June 12, 2011 at 6:23 am

    I know we have them around here, but I haven’t found them in the swamp woods yet. Of course, I haven’t walked out in the swamp woods either… somehow I think there might be snakes and probably a bit of quick sand as well. Or at least that is what my vivid imagination cooks up.
    My lighthouse triangles are here.

    • mudhooks said,

      June 12, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      The Trilliums are usually found in or at the edges of the woods, in well-drained soil. The floating heart is found in the shallows of ponds. No need to worry about quicksand or even getting you feet damp.

  2. Susanne said,

    June 11, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    So pretty! I used archive pictures this time around too. Life gets a little busy sometimes, doesn’t it?

  3. June 11, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Probably one of my favorite spring flowers! I like the red ones the best, and have some growing in the deep shade of the Hosta Dell. Your shots are very beautiful.

  4. ewok1993 said,

    June 11, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    these are beautiful flowers.

  5. Jerry said,

    June 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Great shots of the trilliums. We were away int eh spring and missed them in full bloom int eh forest near our house. SIGH

    Have a great weekend.

  6. gitwizard said,

    June 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Beautiful shots.
    Happy Birthday to your Mom for tomorrow.

  7. upto6only said,

    June 11, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    love your flower collections so beautiful

  8. azahar said,

    June 11, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    The white one is especially gorgeous.

  9. YTSL said,

    June 11, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Beautiful pics. And FWIW, I tend to use photos from my archive for Photo Hunts (too). 🙂

  10. magiceye said,

    June 11, 2011 at 8:59 am

    beautiful takes!!


Leave a comment