The Medals

img_4958

As you can see, the medals arrived (after an anxious wait on my part and that of the sender). I want to get a photo of Mom with them and I plan to get them properly framed in a shadow box.

I don’t know if my grandfather ever looked at them after he received them. Certainly, he never put them on their ribbands which are still flat and bright, like new. I expect that, for him, the medals represented something that was not as important as the work that he performed. For me, they are a tangible link to him and to history. I am so glad to have gotten them back into the family.

2 Comments

  1. March 7, 2017 at 5:47 am

    I have read your posts .I’m the daughter of Hutch’s close friend,
    I have some letters etc, you might be interested in.

    • mudhooks said,

      March 7, 2017 at 4:24 pm

      Hi, Elizabeth!

      Interesting!! I have sent you an email.


Leave a Reply

