Well, I guess that is that…

So… On Friday I got a call regarding the call-up for the next 6 months. It requires me to be on-site full time and is for not quite full-time hours. Plus I have to pay for parking which amounts to an extra $200 a month or spend around 2 hours on the bus, each way.

Since I absolutely cannot leave Mom all day, every day and given the above problems, I simply can’t do it. I turned it down. I’ve said that if a different call-up comes up, I’d be more than happy to take it.

The upshot, however, is that, as of April 1, After 10 years, I will be out of work. Of course, in December 2010, I was laid off but then got a new call-up starting in January 2011. It just staved off the inevitable because the department mandate runs out at the end of March 2013, anyway.

I am looking for work that I can do at home, looking at some creative projects that I can work on at home. I am also looking forward to spending more quality time with Mom while we can enjoy each others’ company. Having more free time will enable me to do a better job taking care of Mom.

C’est la vie….

2 Comments

  1. azahar said,

    March 7, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    I feel optimistic that something new will turn up for you. Starting a biz from home sounds like a great idea…. any ideas yet?

    • mudhooks said,

      March 11, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      I have a few ideas. Right now, I am just trying to get through this month without throwing in the towel. I just want to be done with it all.

      Years ago, I had an idea for nursery and children’s room decor items which would simply require someone to cut out the shapes. I asked my brother the carpenter if he would help and he started in on some ludicrously convoluted idea HE had for a project that required sewing skills I simply do not have and would be highly unlikely to sell. All I needed was someone moderately more able to cut wood with a skill-saw…. The rest I could do so easily. I think I still have the book where I got the idea from.

      My other idea is a bit more convoluted but involves Steampunk light fixtures.


Leave a Reply

