Photo Hunt: Joy

This week’s Photo Hunt challenge is joy.

The joy comes in finding yet more photos from my childhood, in this case slides. All the photos here were taken when I was about 5 going on 6.

The first is one I don’t recall having seen before, of Mom and me outside our house in Kemptville, before she remarried. It is also a photo full of joy.

The second and third are of me with the cherry (?) tree that we planted in the back of the house. The first must be the Spring before the other. The second, taken of me in my Easter finery. I still remember that day. Someone have me Cream Soda, the pink kind, and I was excited and the soda fizzed up and came out my nose and all over my dress and sweater. I still cannot drink Cream Soda…

The last is of me on the Kemptville Creek with my new skates, probably Christmas Day. The man is our landlord, Mr. Moffatt. The scene behind us hasn’t changed in 50 years. The service station is now a repair shop but that is it.

20111217-022931.jpg

20111217-023028.jpg

20111217-023142.jpg

20111217-023104.jpg

11 Comments

  1. azahar said,

    December 18, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Are you bare-legged wearing those skates? Brrrr…

    Lovely set of photos.

    • mudhooks said,

      December 19, 2011 at 3:33 am

      No, I’m wearing tights. I think they were sort of yellow.

  2. Carver said,

    December 17, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    These are wonderful photographs from your childhood. Great take on the theme!

  3. Liz said,

    December 17, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Great take on the theme. Have a fabulous week.

    Liz @ MLC

  4. December 17, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I love those old photos!
    Thanks for joining the new Saturday PhotoHunt site.
    See you next saturdy!
    Sandi

  5. mommygen said,

    December 17, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    They are cute shots…Visiting from PH!

  6. Sue St Clair said,

    December 17, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Lovely photos and memories! With the exception maybe of the cream soda 😉

  7. Annie said,

    December 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Nice take on the theme. I really like what you’ve done with these photos.

  8. Lilian said,

    December 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Lovely. This is my favourite photo this week, so far.

  9. Bel said,

    December 17, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Wonderful photos, as always. 🙂

  10. YTSL said,

    December 17, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Those are great childhood pictures. Can see why you’d be really joyful upon coming across them again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

