Old photos

I finally found some old photos of Mom, taken about 1936-1938 or so. She’d be 12 or 14 or so.

At first she couldn’t identify the location. However, after I showed her the photo on my iPhone and could enlarge them for her, she readily identified the location as “a botanical garden in Lincolnshire”. In looking for a likely place, I found that Lincoln has an arboretum and photos seem to indicate that the pond she is kneeling at, minus the flowers, are a match with the one at the arboretum. Gone are the gardens, sadly.

20111128-011540.jpg

20111128-011735.jpg

2 Comments

  1. azahar said,

    November 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Wow, amazing to see such old family photos! I think the oldest that were in my family albums were from about mid 1950s.

    • mudhooks said,

      November 28, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      There are more older ones to go… Unfortunately, most are negatives. But even one’s where I have the positive, I’ve been scanning the negs because they are better than the originals!


Leave a Reply

