Photo Hunt: Two

This week’s Photo Hunt challenge was “Two”… Just us two, me and my dolly, Susan. I was about 4, I think.

20111113-195722.jpg

I should mention that the front of her hair really is cut off. I overheard people say that hair grows back faster if it is cut (probably in discussions over the hideous haircut and perm you see on my head in this photo). I thought this applied to dolls’ hair, as well and clearly recall “trimming” her bangs in hopes of making it grow. I can also remember clearly the smell of her hair and the smell after it was washed it with baby shampoo., and the texture of her hair…

5 Comments

  1. Bel said,

    November 19, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Good grief, what an active child! Lovely photo there. 🙂

  2. sledpress said,

    November 15, 2011 at 8:11 am

    I had a red-haired doll who was also called Susie. I actually still have her. Last year I bought her a brand new doll dress from an online store, and a necklace that my favorite teenager gave me one year for my birthday stays with Susie when I am not wearing jewelry (which is most of the time).

    Some days I think these ancient relationships were the best ones we will ever have.

  3. November 15, 2011 at 1:21 am

    Delightful!

  4. YTSL said,

    November 14, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Awwww, what a cute pic! Hope Susan’s still safe and in good condition somewhere. 🙂

    • mudhooks said,

      November 15, 2011 at 1:40 am

      Sadly, Susan ended up in the toybox in the basement which was flooded and got all moldy. My walking doll ended up being destroyed by my brother who plastered her with flour paste and she never walked again. I have a photo of her somewhere, I think… My brother also fed string into my record player and threw my doll dishes out the bedroom window. However, he was as hard on his toys as he was on mine. Not content with throwing my doll dishes out the window (one hit me in the eye, giving me a black eye) he started throwing his metal pedal cars out the window.

      Mom gave him a toy tool kit and he ran right out and tried to saw down the elm in the front yard. After discovering that this would take some days of cutting, he turned the saw on pother, smaller items.

      My mother, then heavily pregnant, went out to hang up laundry and went head over heels when the porch fell. He had sawed the leg off.


Leave a Reply

