Technology epiphany

We’re so used fitting technological innovations into our lives that, sometimes, we don’t even take a moment to think about just what a jump we’ve made.

I had a “technology epiphany” a short time ago when i was watching a video on my iPhone and had to get up to go to the bathroom. Rather than pause the video, I took the iPhone with me. Suddenly, I realized what a jump this is. Being able to walk around watching a video… I’d watched a video while sitting on the bus but I didn’t even think about the import of it. I suppose that the first time I carried the handset for the phone into another room rather than being forced to sit three feet from the phone or even just being able to carry the phone as far as the cord attached to the wall allowed must have felt pretty cool but I don’t recall being this aware of the momentousness of it.

My mother and I often think how fascinated my grandfather would have been with modern technology. He was the first person in the village to have a “wireless” installed in his house. I imagine that, to him, being able to walk from room to room with a phone that plays videos would be akin to walking on the moon!

Written amd posted from my iPhone…

4 Comments

  1. Jay said,

    October 16, 2011 at 9:24 am

    At one point, I think that the innovations have changed how we are human. At another, I think of the advantages and the conveniences.

  2. Sandy said,

    October 16, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Hhrrmmp!
    Your Grandfather rode in a buggy and saw men walk on the Moon. Columbus’ discovery was no great surprise – ask the Norwegians. The surprise was that it wasn’t China! Everything is built on what was before and enters our lives in a creep. Human “progress” does seem to be moving at exponential speed. Soooo, I don’t think he would be surprised at all by a wireless with Pictures…

    • mudhooks said,

      October 16, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Actually, the Grandpa I was talking about was the one in Scotland. He did, I guess ride in a buggy for a part of his early life and then owned a motorcycle and sidecar. He never even owned a car. He died before the first space shot. In fact, he died before commercial air travel was commonplace. He had heard of television, which was invented before the war but he’d never seen it. He died between VE Dy and VJ Day.

      However, Grandpa Houchins DID ride in a buggy and DID see men land on the moon. I didn’t even think about that.

  3. Michal said,

    October 16, 2011 at 2:12 am

    I thoght this way when I was thinking about Columb‘s discovery. For people of XV century it was like Armstrong on the moon. Today the most important is all we see in medicine world. That‘s great hope for so many people.
    Michal


Leave a Reply

