Photo hunt: Waiting

I try to  avoid waiting for anything but it is inevitable. When I am waiting, I often haul out my camera or my phone and just snap away.

I spend a lot of time waiting at the chiropractor’s office and often get caught up watching the patterns that the vertical blinds make on the walls and windows. Interesting how different the same image looks in colour as opposed to black and white.

One of the few times I enjoy waiting is when it is for a train to pass. Sadly, it doesn’t happen often enough, these days. With the freight trains, these days, it can take several minutes to go by. Here is one of the railway crossings. The barriers look very much like ET, don’t they?

12 Comments

  1. Sue St Clair said,

    October 9, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Great shots and yeah I see ET too 🙂 Happy photo hunt!

  2. October 9, 2011 at 10:46 am

    I dislike waiting at the doctor’s clinic too and would usually read or bring along some thing to pass time.

    • mudhooks said,

      October 9, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      There’s plenty to read. There is usually a few minutes of waiting in the actual adjustment room. Sometimes I read and sometimes I just enjoy looking at the changing light.

  3. alejna said,

    October 9, 2011 at 6:47 am

    Great shots! I don’t know that I would have noticed ET in the photos without you mentioning it, but now I can’t help but see them as ETs!

    I like the cool patterns of the buildings through the blinds, too.

    • mudhooks said,

      October 9, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      There’s an interesting view I have been wanting to photograph but since our appointments are later in the day it has passed. When the sun is in the right position, it reflects off the glassed building across the street on the old brick building beside it. It turns the plain brick wall into glowing squares if light. However, I just noticed the other day that on the opposite side of the street in the noonday sun, the same phenomenon occurs with two other buildings. I have to bring my camera next time!

  4. Vicki said,

    October 8, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Never thought about it, but they do look like ET/aliens!
    Here’s My Photo

  5. Bel said,

    October 8, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Great. 😀 Love the b&w ET especially.

  6. YTSL said,

    October 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    It is interesting how different things can look in black and white vs color. The train crossing barriers look particularly like ET when in black and white, I reckon. 🙂

  7. azahar said,

    October 8, 2011 at 11:48 am

    And he’s pointing to Hoooomme! Nice.

    • Anneke said,

      October 8, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      Ha! I never thought of that!

  8. Mar said,

    October 8, 2011 at 11:36 am

    How cute, it does look like ET!!
    happy weekend.

    waiting

  9. magiceye said,

    October 8, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Lovely captures! And yes, they do like aliens! lol!


Leave a Reply

