Lost…

This evening, I had a very disconcerting… frightening experience. I got lost.

It wasn’t that I was actually “lost”. I was on my way to a friend’s house in the country which I have gone to about this time, three years in a row, now. Each time I manage to get on the wrong road. I am sure I know how to get there and somehow get turned around. So, tonight, I planned out my route, wrote the instructions down and started on the way. I was watching for my turn and thought I had missed it so I made a turn which should have gotten me to another road to get onto the road I needed. Finally, I found the road I was looking for and started down it. Suddenly it became a dirt road so I turned back, found someone and asked if it was “still #7”. No, they told me, that’s a long distance off. I swear I was ON #7. Anyway, he gave me instructions to where I was supposed to be headed and I set off again and I found myself back on track and knew the road I was looking for was not much further on. I stopped to get gas and bought a road atlas and headed off again. I knew from looking at the map that I should turn left just up the road. I turned left and the road was just not the road it should be so I took out the map, again… and for some reason, I couldn’t look at where I was and make sense of the map.

It sounds silly, but I have been up and down all the roads in the area may, many times. I have been to the house several other times and I just couldn’t think where I was. I couldn’t figure out what direction I was pointed. I knew I wasn’t “lost”… I just couldn’t figure out in my head where I was. It is sort of like starting to fall down stairs and not be able to stop yourself because your foot keeps missing the step. Like I had a blank spot in my brain. I started to panic. Finally, I found the road I was looking for and then the house. I was pretty shaken and, I know this sounds silly, but I started to cry.

I don’t know if it’s because I have been having trouble sleeping and I am just really tired or what. The one thing that I kept thinking about was that this must be like for someone who has memory problems… and then I started wondering if I have problems or am starting to have problems. I am prepared to think it was a one-off. Still. It was really upsetting.

4 Comments

  1. August 1, 2011 at 8:33 am

    My boyfriend does have memory problems from a head injury several years ago. This is what he feels like, a lot. In addition, he will take routes he knows well, or that are slower travel, because he can’t keep up with the changes. Having said that, I think we all get “lost” occasionally, and can’t find or do something familiar. I wouldn’t worry about it unless it starts happening all the time.
    You might think about getting a GPS unit, also. I love the GPS on my phone. Just don’t believe it when it tells you to take the road less traveled. That’s how people die in the desert.

  2. Bel said,

    July 31, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    I’m used to not finding my way, no matter how well I prepare. I imagine it was a very disturbing experience, but you shouldn’t worry about it.

  3. azahar said,

    July 31, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    *pat pat pat*

    Put it down to a glitch in the matrix, that’s what I always do.

    • mudhooks said,

      July 31, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      Thanks, Az.

      I was looking for an image that expressed what I felt like… The hand, above, does just that for me.


Leave a Reply

