Photo Hunt: “Informative”

I was wracking my brain trying to come up with something for this week’s Photo Hunt challenge. Whilst squinting at my photos on my Fotki profile, I was thinking about how nice it will be to get my new glasses so I can actually see without squinting. My appointment was on Thursday (My new pair will have graduated lenses for reading, computer, and for distance). I had a retinal scan and my doctor checked to see if there was any scarring from my long-lasting Shingles scrape. A small scar, not in my area of vision…

Anyhoodle… This brings me to this week’s Photo Hunt…

For some reasons, my Shingles postings have been found very informative to people who have either been diagnosed with facial Shingles, think they have facial Shingles, or have been misdiagnosed and KNOW they have facial Shingles. Very many doctors don’t seem to recognize the symptoms of Shingles on the face. Nor, do they seem to understand the need to promptly prescribe the antiviral OR understand the danger of facial Shingles (If the virus gets into the eye, itself, it can cause permanent damage to the eye. As a result, I have had so many people contact me asking if I think they have Shingles, what they should do, to complain about their doctor’s lack of concern, and/or to ask questions about my experience with Shingles.

And… apropos Photo Hunt… The entirely gross and embarrassing photos of my Shingle-y face have been found to be very informative to a lot of people.

22 Comments

  1. aChittenden said,

    September 6, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    Hello. Just wanted to express my thanks to your photos coming up when I Googled “shingles on your face” b/c when I saw your photo I thought “That’s what I’ve got going on.” Over the past few days I’ve assumed it was allergic reaction to something or a bug bite with side effects and would never have considered shingles but your photo looked pretty much exactly like my face this morning. I’ve been to a doctor, starting my scrips this afternoon, resting, and am super thankful about your post. THANK YOU.

    • mudhooks said,

      September 7, 2014 at 3:11 am

      Hi! I am so glad that I was of some help! Good luck with it. I highly recommend an ointment or cream for the rash. I used one that was recommended by the pharmacist. It is for people who have had chemical peels and it worked wonders! The one I got was from La Roche-Posay called Cicaplast. Not cheap but it worked really well. Get well soon (and get the vaccine when you’ve recovered!). Anneke

  2. kbc said,

    December 23, 2012 at 2:36 am

    I just want to thank you for posting these pictures of the shingles on your face. I have gotten this repeatedly and it looks very much like yours. I think it’s shingles, but doctors won’t believe me and want to treat me for eczema. Your post was what finally convinced me to treat it as shingles, which has been my suspicion all along. So I started battling it with lysine 5 to 6 times a day and throughout the night. When my face starts burning and itching, I know it’s coming on and I begin the lysine therapy: works like a charm. I stay away from nuts and chocolate as well. Thank you again–I found your post just when I really needed it.

    • mudhooks said,

      December 23, 2012 at 3:08 am

      I’m glad that the posts have been so helpful to a lot of people.I am amazed by the number of people whose doctors are unable to properly diagnose the problem.

      My advice is that someone who is concerned and whose doctor is either dawdling or unconcerned is to go to the emergency department at their local hospital.

  3. srp said,

    June 20, 2011 at 12:53 am

    I worry about elderly parents getting them… they both had the chickenpox as children…. now the immune system is not the greatest either. They do have a vaccine for shingles now and their doctors have urged them to get it.
    Glad yours is much better… they can take a long time to go into remission and they are sooooo painful.

    Mine is late, but better late than never…. Signs

  4. ann said,

    June 19, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Sorry about your shingles and this is a very imformative post and photo. Mine occured on my left side on my torso… easily covered by a blouse or t-shirt… most of my pain happened before the rash… once the rash appreared and the doctor’s visit for the meds, I was soon over it.

  5. June 18, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Yegods Shingles anywhere is nasty – as I know from experience – but the face.. now that is a different matter. A most informative post indeed Anneke

  6. Jerry said,

    June 18, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Fingers crossed that you don’t have a return visit! They can be very painful.

  7. Lilian said,

    June 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    That must have been nasty. Glad all is OK now.

  8. upto6only said,

    June 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    oh my get well thanks for sharing this.

  9. azahar said,

    June 18, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Definitely informative!

  10. Sparkle said,

    June 18, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Ouch! Shingles are pretty awful!

  11. June 18, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Very informative, and I have to say, it’s not that gross at all. I hope you are okay and that the rashes are gone now.

  12. Julie said,

    June 18, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I’ve a friend who has shingles too and I feel sad for her especially when other people stop and stare at her 😦

    My PH:
    http://pixiepixels.info/2011/06/18/shiatsu-and-oil-massage/

    http://homeschooling.teacherjulie.com/2011/06/18/dauis-church-marker/

    Happy weekend!

  13. Luna Miranda said,

    June 18, 2011 at 9:36 am

    oh no, i hope it will go away soon. i didn’t know shingles can cause permanent damage to the eye. thanks for sharing.

  14. Marites said,

    June 18, 2011 at 8:59 am

    goodness, i hope you’re ok. it could be really itchy!

    • mudhooks said,

      June 18, 2011 at 9:32 am

      I got it in October 2009 and while the rash cleared up in about a month, the virus kept reappearing in my eye until around June 2010. So far, so good…

  15. June 18, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Definitely icky. I have been lucky enough to avoid shingles so far.

  16. Carver said,

    June 18, 2011 at 7:38 am

    This was very informative. I’ve heard that shingles is one of the most painful things to deal with. Friends and family who’ve had it had outbreaks on their legs. I think face would be even more painful.

  17. YTSL said,

    June 18, 2011 at 7:30 am

    FWIW, I don’t think your shingled face is “entirely gross” but guess I still can also count myself fortunate that when I got shingles, it was in an area easily covered (I got it on my upper left arm and body area).

    Something about shingles I learned from my doctor that I found very informative: that it’s a rash that occurs only on one half of your body. A scarier fact: it can reoccur. :S

  18. magiceye said,

    June 18, 2011 at 7:30 am

    interesting


Leave a Reply

