Photo Hunt: Missed

The first three photos weren’t taken by me. In fact, I am in them. They were taken just after my Mom and Dad (step-Dad) were married.

They definitely qualify in several ways… The photographer “missed” the cat. I “miss” those days… and My Dad is “missed”. He died in 1988, a month to the day after my birth father. I miss him still.

I’m on the left in this photo. My step-sister and step-brother are the other kids. Skimmie the cat and Rajah the dog.

NOTE: Blogger is down. She’s using her WordPress blog.

My Dad and my brother during a birthday party. I’m not sure whose birthday. Possibly my sister’s. My Dad at his best. Enjoying a joke (probably his own and probably REALLY, REALLY bad). One of the few without a cigarette hanging out of his mouth.

The earliest photo of my Dad, on the right, at age 2 with his sisters, Amy and Mehru. Probably his birthday photos.

And doing what he liked best, aside from working. On one of my birthdays, in Luskville, Quebec.

22 Comments

  1. May 15, 2011 at 9:10 am

    great photos! Happy weekend.

  2. May 15, 2011 at 4:05 am

    Nice memories.

    The Florida Furkids and Angel Sniffie

  3. Faith said,

    May 15, 2011 at 3:01 am

    I don’t have any old photos of my family so I really love seeing someone else post some.

    Mine is here in case you want to check it out.

  4. peppylady said,

    May 14, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Great shot and the pictures all have a story behind them. Thanks for sharing.

    Coffee is on.

  5. Liz said,

    May 14, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Wonderful photos!

  6. Annie said,

    May 14, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    This is a very nice post for this theme. Thanks for sharing your memories and loved ones with us.

  7. Sue St Clair said,

    May 14, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Lovely collection of family photos, and memories. We were definitely on the same page this weekend with the theme.

  8. Jerry said,

    May 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Old photos are great to help us remember the good times in life and the people who are important to us. Great shots for this week’s theme.

    Have a good weekend.

  9. Mar said,

    May 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Wonderful shots from your family album, just lovely.

    Happy weekend.
    missing

  10. May 14, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    What marvelous memories you have here! Beautiful sense of togetherness in these family photos!

  11. stanley said,

    May 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Oh wow. I bet those memories came with great tears of joy too!

    Help VOTE for my PHOTO ENTRY

  12. Pat said,

    May 14, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Great family photos! Love all of the old, b&w ones. I live far from my family, so they are always missed.

    Happy Weekend.

  13. Lilian said,

    May 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Lovely photos.

  14. gitwizard said,

    May 14, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Very charismatic photos, love those old black & white shots.

  15. May 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    What a wonderful set of photos. I am sure you miss him dearly.

  16. May 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    lovely photos and wonderful memories. great take on the theme.

  17. azahar said,

    May 14, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    What wonderful photos!

  18. Julie said,

    May 14, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Those photos are priceless. It must be fun going looking at all these and thinking about the past 🙂

  19. ewok1993 said,

    May 14, 2011 at 11:08 am

    what lovely old photos you shared, thanks. i enjoy looking old b/w photos. and thanks for the tip about ms tnchick’s other blog.

  20. May 14, 2011 at 9:12 am

    I see you love your Dad a lot. I’m closer to my Dad too.

    • mudhooks said,

      May 14, 2011 at 9:19 am

      My Dad and I had an odd relationship. I didn’t realize how much he meant to me until my birth father arrived back in my life, in my 20s. We had kind of come to understand each other just before he died.

      When my birth father died, I thought it would be worse when my step-Dad died but i would be able to manage. I didn’t realize I would lose him just a month later… or that my life would come to a screaming halt.

      My mother is now 86 and I don’t know what I will do when she goes… I know how bad it was when my Dad died.

  21. YTSL said,

    May 14, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Great photo-essay — I could feel the love and affection you poured into it.


Leave a Reply

