Junk shop photos

Back when I was living in New York City, I wandered into a junk shop, probably on 10th Avenue. I didn’t have a lot of money to spend. In fact, I had to be careful how much I spent on anything I wanted that wasn’t strictly a “necessity” according to my ex. I was pawing through a box of photos and wished I could have bought the whole box or at least a few more. I settled for a small handful. This week, while my niece, Ange, and her boyfriend, Ryan, were sorting through my bedroom (they are helping FINALLY to get our house in order after our move last year. I say “help” but they are doing everything, bless them!) they unearthed the envelope of photos. I have scanned them and am going to upload them to Shorpy.com. When I get them uploaded, I will provide a link to any that make it through the vetting process.

I was just researching the names on two of the photos, of Elsie, Irwin and Grace Adams and located them! Sad to discover that none of them appeared to have married and they lived with their parents for many years.

 

"Elsie Adams, Irwin Adams, Grace Adams"

 

"Grace Adams"

I really like this next photo. I think possibly she might be Grace or Elsie Adams.

Unknown woman

But I think this is my favourite one. One doesn’t usually see studio photos of this period which show such love and humour. I wish I knew who these people were. What happened to them? Did the little girl marry?

Happy family, Hutchinson, Kansas

See the rest of the photos here.

1 Comment

  1. lesle said,

    May 19, 2011 at 10:43 am

    Here’s a site for orphan photos:
    http://forgottenoldphotos.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

