New Shoes…

This morning, my dear friend Az, in Sevilla, posted about some shoes she was thinking of buying. I thought they looked so nice and comfy but I wasn’t sure if the would be available, here in Canada, let alone in Ottawa! I found that they ARE available in Canada and, more importantly, in Ottawa, at Glebe Trotters.

 

El Naturalista

Some of the shoes in the El Naturalista line are a bit… goofy-looking for my tastes but I just loved the look of these. They are expensive but really, when you consider that I rarely find shoes I can wear, that I like, and that my chiropractor will approve of, I think they were worth the price. I usually end up with something which is “sort of comfortable” and which I hope will eventually get more comfortable. Sometimes they do and sometimes they don’t.

The guy measured me and said size 36… whatever size that is… would be right. I couldn’t get my foot into is at all. I ended up with a 40 (he said it was around a 9). My problem is that my feet are slightly different sizes and while one is long and turns in, the other is wide and flat (as a result of being stepped on by a draft horse). If one shoe fits, the other is either going to be too big or too small. These ones are comfy right away and will form to fit my odd-shaped feet.

Thanks, Az!

6 Comments

  1. April 19, 2011 at 9:13 am

    […] New Shoes… (mudpuddle.wordpress.com) […]

  2. J. said,

    March 7, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    beautiful! so cute.

  3. azahar said,

    March 5, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Well, they’re more expensive in Canada. $155 = 114€

    I paid 80€ for my Naturalistas.

    Most Campers I like here cost around 100€. And Mephisto sandals are between 100-125€

    That’s why I thought the Naturalistas were such a good deal.

    • mudhooks said,

      March 5, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      I just looked at the Canadian website and they list them at $164, which wouldn’t include tax and shipping. The “el Viajero Prado” are $214/ Some of the fancier shoes are $259. Boots are into the $300+

      I don’t know if mine were on sale or what. There are actually 3 stores in town that have them. one closer to home. The store I went to has a “bargain” section with older shoes at a reduced price and you get a better deal if you bought a regular priced pair. I didn’t have the money or the time to really look at them but I had a glance through. I will have to have a closer look when I am a bit more flush.

  4. azahar said,

    March 5, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I want red ones now too!

    Expensive? They’re cheaper than Campers, which is what I usually buy. Basically, when I find shoes that fit and are comfortable, I don’t care what they cost. I took size 40 in these too. Usually I’m a 39.

    Agree that a lot of the Naturalista line is ugly. But they knew when to stop with this style.

    • mudhooks said,

      March 5, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      I’m thinking of getting a pair of “Campos” as well. I normally can’t wear the old style sneakers but these look like they might have a better fit.

      At $155 plus tax, they were more expensive than shoes I have bought in a number of years. But most of the shoe stores I have wandered through have toe-pinching, “fashion” shoes that are almost NEVER available in my size. No one sells half-sizes any more which often leaves me swimming in one shoe if the other fits — sort of.


Leave a Reply

