Still not getting the results I want

So I fiddled with my new camera but I am still not getting the great results I expect. Better but not great.

A friend who is a photographer is thinking it it might be the rather generic lens that I got with the camera. That is entirely possible. I am going to have to explore this further. It may mean an additional lens.

I went out on Sunday and took some photos of some favourite spots just to see whether it was the indoor shots I was taking, the settings, or what.

8 Comments

  1. Bella said,

    January 26, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    I think they’re lovely. Especially the lighthouse-Very striking!
    Interesting to read what Sandy says about one focal lenses. I always use my standard 18-55mm standard zoom lens but will most definitely look into buying a set focal lens next time (after winning the lottery…;) ) I always tend to fall a little short of the proper, crisp sharpness I’m looking for!

  2. Bel said,

    January 12, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Love them all. The sky in photos #4 and #10 is fabulous.

  3. sandy said,

    January 11, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I don’t use zoom lenses, Sis. They are only, truly sharp at one focal length, through their whole range. Also, one focal length lenses are MUCH sharper overall. They also discipline the way you see – seeing being in the photographic sense. When I bought my D7000 I didn’t buy the zoom packaged with it. rather I went for the 35 MM 1.4 lens. Much sharper and faster.
    Buy the best lens (usually the most expense, unfortunately) you can research.

    Love ya,
    S

  4. magiceye said,

    January 11, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    liked them all!. the 1st 4 were the best. which camera are you using and which lens.
    looks like you have a filer attached to the lens too.

    • mudhooks said,

      January 11, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Thanks!

      It’s a Canon EOS 60D. No filter. The lens is a EFS 18-200 zoom.


Leave a Reply

