Photo Hunt: Fuzzy

Oh… And Happy New Year!

When I bought my original Canon digital point-and-shoot camera, I loved it. However, about 2 years later I was finding the photos just weren’t as sharp as when I first bought the camera and the resolution was disappointing. I attributed it to the fact that I had accidentally dropped my camera on the metal frame of my bed and had to send it in to be repaired. So I finally went out and bought a newer version of the same make and model. Again, I was so pleased with the clarity of the shots. However, within about 2 years, I was getting those disappointing shots with poor resolution. The only way I could get a clear shot was if I tipped the camera on its back… And while I DO happen to take a lot of shots that way — shots pointing up from the underside of roadside weeds — the fact is that is is somewhat limiting.

My problem for so long was that Digital SLR cameras took a lot longer to get view-screens that were either big enough or you could use WHILE shooting. Due to my diminishing eyesight and loss of clear field of vision (I have floaters and posterior vitreous detachment which hamper my ability to see clearly, especially in my left eye which is my dominant eye) I need a large view-screen and find using the viewfinder impossible.

Now, however, digital SLRs have come out that make things a LOT easier for me — large view screens, screens that rotate(!), screens that stay on while you shoot(!). I finally went out and bought myself a little Christmas present and fuzzy images like these…

Queen Anne's Lace (in seed). Fuzzy x2!

Queen Anne's Lace

will be a thing of the past.

Unfortunately, because of the Christmas rush and the truly crappy weather, I haven’t had a chance to get out and USE my new camera!

13 Comments

  1. sandy said,

    January 1, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    Clean the Low-Pass filter!
    The image sensor that acts as the camera’s picture element is fitted with a low-pass filter to prevent moire. Dust & dirt can appear in images & image quality can degrade over time. Your camera may have a “Clean Now” function – if so, use it. If not, the sensors may be cleaned by a local, reputable camera shop or they may send it off to a higher echelon facility. This could be a special problem with cameras with an interchangeable lens system.
    Ask about this possibility at camera shop that caters to pro shooters especially.

    • mudhooks said,

      January 2, 2011 at 12:06 am

      Experience tells me that taking it to be fixed will cost more than the camera is worth, at this point. It doesn’t have interchangeable lenses and no clean function.

      It’s a Canon SD 559 Power Shot.

  2. Marta said,

    January 1, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    Great present. I have an old similar model (20d) and I love it.

    These are good photos for the theme. Just think of what you’ll be able to do with the new camera!

  3. Liz said,

    January 1, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Beautiful close up shots. Happy 2011!

    Liz @ MLC

  4. gengen said,

    January 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Oh they are pretty flowers…Happy new year…

  5. Gattina said,

    January 1, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    To me the photos look normal, not fuzzy, lol ! Maybe I have a very sharp view, lol !

  6. YTSL said,

    January 1, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    What’s fuzzy is pretty clear to me. Put in another way: those are great close-up shots as far as I’m concerned! ;b

  7. Lilian said,

    January 1, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Enjoy the new camera!

  8. January 1, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Good luck with your new camera!
    Happy New Year.

  9. Marites said,

    January 1, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    what a nice christmas present you got for yourself. I also bought a DSLR camera this year after so much thinking. By far, am enjoying my purchase:) happy new year!!

  10. azahar said,

    January 1, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Here’s to de-fuzzing! Can’t wait to see new photos from the new camera.

  11. January 1, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Fuzzy is in the eye of the beholder. Good choices for the theme.

    Happy New Year.

  12. magiceye said,

    January 1, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    these images are good hence looking forward to your dslr captures which are bound to be superb!

    happy new year!


Leave a Reply

