Merry Christmas to me…

(and belated Happy Birthday)

I bought myself a present for Christmas and my birthday – this year’s and next years, possibly.

Canon EOS 60D w/ EF-S 18-200IS

Canon EOS 60D with 18-200 mm lens. I haven’t used a 35 mm camera in… almost 30 years. had to replace my Canon digital point-and-shoot but having had two in the last. 10 years which lost resolution within a couple of years, I wasn’t prepared to spend more money on another. The one I have is serviceable for stuff I can’t use a bulky camera or when resolution doesn’t matter so much.

Now that the 35mm ones have larger viewfinders and also have view-screens which you can use while shooting, I feel comfortable in finally getting one. It wasn’t cheap but with the package deal, sale price and rebate, with tax I got the package, a battery, and a camera bag for what the regular base price without tax of the camera and lens would have been. I have a friend who bought the 20D about 4 years ago and I’ve been impressed with the images she has produced using it. My brother-in-law also has a Canon but I am not sure what model he owns.

I have also ordered another gift for myself… a much more modest gift. I found a copy of “A Woman’s Journey Round the World, from Vienna to Brazil, Chili, Tahiti, China, Hindostan, Persia, and Asia Minor.” (1852) by Ida Pfeiffer.

Ida Laura Reyer-Pfeiffer (1797-1858)

7 Comments

  1. December 16, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Excellent choice. I have just upgraded from a Nikon D200 to a D700. A beautiful piece of kit

  2. sandy said,

    December 15, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    And, oh yea, it -the D7000 – lets me use all my older manual focus lenses. No planned obsolescence.

  3. sandy said,

    December 15, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    I just purchased a Nikon D7000 and a 35MM f1.8 DX lens – I don’t like zoom lenses and rarely have used them. Had been using a Canon G10 very good camera but wanted to use a camera with a larger 2,016-segment RGB meter. Canon only meters in B&W. This Nikon is faster, quieter, more powerful and able to leap tall buildings… By the way, I still use a film Nikon (FA) and a Hasselblad…

    • mudhooks said,

      December 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      Is this the same Hasselblad you had way back when I first visited you? I think you had one then.

      • sandy said,

        December 19, 2010 at 11:31 pm

        Yes… but it’s so much younger then that now!

  4. azahar said,

    December 15, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    What a serious grown-up looking camera – impressive!

    And belated happy birthday! (sorry I missed it)

    • mudhooks said,

      December 15, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      I don’t think you did. It was back in September…


Leave a Reply

