Tajik Boy by Jon Brooks

I went out to see Jon Brooks twice this weekend. Jon is a folk singer in the great protest song tradition.

“The highest aim of song is to invoke empathy – to offer that rare sight of ourselves in others. In this sense, the folk singer is simply trying to politicize love, hence, my contention that today’s songwriter should be a lobbyist for compassion to be our principle representative in government office.”

I first heard him earlier this year when my friend Ray was opening for him at the Black Sheep, in Wakefield. Later, I “friended” him on MySpace and we messaged back and forth a couple of times and, at one point I mentioned that I had sponsored refugees from Kosovo and he told me he was writing some songs on the refugee experience. He then asked to interview me on my experience.

I am looking forward to that… He’s someone whose convictions and voice I admire.

Listen to “Tajik Boy” by Jon Brooks.

1 Comment

  1. October 4, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Jon,

    We discussed you interviewing on Songwriter’s Studio, this Sunday at KPFT. I just got Teresa’s E-mial regarding your Saturday night gig and live spot on Larry Winters show on Saturday. You are welcome to do the show with me on Sunday, 6:00-6:30 pm. Let me know.

    Tom Tranchilla


Leave a Reply

