PhotoHunter: Framed

Need I say more?

The print at the top of the first photo is one I did in high school. It was the first etching I made. I thought it was from the “Bab Ballads” by W.S. Gilbert but apparently not. I can’t remember, now, where I copied it from.

The other etching which you can see a bit more of in the second photo is one my husband gave me for Christmas the last year we were married. I love it. It is by an Inuit artist, Germaine Arnaktauyok, called “Ullus”. Ullus are traditional Inuit cutting utensils used exclusively by women. One of Germaine’s designs is on the back side of the 1999 $2 coin (toonie) commemorating the founding of Nunavut and another for the 2000 $200 gold coin. You can see more images of her work, here. I would love to get one of the prints of combs.

…and this is a bit of fun I created a few years ago… “June Bride

14 Comments

  1. Maya said,

    August 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    I really like your “June Bride” creation–lovely.

  2. August 29, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I love your beautiful art pieces… I am, on the other hand, also in love with aboriginal art works and just last year I received a framed painting from my Aussie friend. It does spruce up a white wall, doesn’t it?

    • mudhooks said,

      August 30, 2010 at 1:35 am

      I would LOVE to own a piece of Australian Aboriginal art.

      A friend owned a number of large pieces of work by Norval Morriseau, the father of Canadian Aboriginal Art and the founder of the Woodland School of art. I would KILL to have a piece by him.

  3. August 28, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Those are great frames, but what is in them is even better!

    http://healingmagichands.wordpress.com/2010/08/28/photohunt-framed/

  4. August 28, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    what beautiful choices for today!

  5. YTSL said,

    August 28, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Lots of creativity in the frame! ;b

  6. Sparkle said,

    August 28, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    There are lots of framed pictures at my house, but few of them are framed. In fact, it’s pretty much just the one I used for today’s theme.

  7. azahar said,

    August 28, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Excellent!

  8. August 28, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I love the second image. All skewed yet so formal

  9. August 28, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Great take on the theme. her engravings are wonderful. I love the combs too.

  10. Gattina said,

    August 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Very nice, I learned frame making once, but it’s quicker to buy them honnestly, lol !

  11. Ruth said,

    August 28, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I love your own print in the first photo.

  12. tnchick said,

    August 28, 2010 at 11:48 am

    I really like the 2nd photo – it’s my fave

  13. magiceye said,

    August 28, 2010 at 11:25 am

    beautiful framed work!


Leave a Reply

