My thoughts on Volvos and their drivers

As I have said before, Volvos are very safe vehicles. Apparently, they have a much lower rate of accidents. That is, in my opinion based on thousands of hours on the road, because their drivers never drive them fast enough to get IN an accident. Frequently, the oblivious behaviour of Volvo drivers causes accidents which drives up the accident rates of other model cars.

I have known only one Volvo driver who EVER drove at or above the speed limit and have very rarely encountered a Volvo driver who has not driven at well below the speed limit, gone through an intersection at anything but a crawl, and not been at the head of a line of traffic going well below the speed limit.

Is it the car or the driver?

This afternoon, on the way out to collect a U-Haul van, I was behind a silver Volvo station wagon (99% of Volvos on the road seem to be station wagons — more often silver).

In a 60 km zone, he was driving 40, except through the intersections where he slowed to 20. Sorry… he “sped up to” 20 after crawling out of a stop at every intersection because by the time we got to the intersections, the light was red. I finally was able to slip past him when the road widened to two lanes. Whereupon, he sped (in the right lane) up to pass all the traffic in the fast lane and skim into the lane when the right lane merged. So I KNOW that his vehicle could drive over 60.

As soon as he merged into the lane, he slowed to 40 again along the single lane with no passing allowed, and again crawled through every intersection.

Why Volvo is spending millions on automatic collision detection system is beyond me… Even if it did work, Volvo drivers would never get within 18 feet of another car in front of them to have this system kick in.

I’m glad I’m not the only person who hates Volvos and the drivers that own them.

“So why do I hate Volvo owners? Because they know damn well that if they if they ram you in your proper car, they’ll live and you’ll die. How would you act at work if you nicked a carload of office supplies, seduced the boss’s teenaged daughter and committed nine counts of aggravated fiduciary misconduct and someone else got fired for it? Now imagine how Volvo owners drive.”

I have actually heard Volvo drivers defend their driving 20 km and more below the limit by saying “I drive at that speed to be safe”. In that case, you are an idiot. Driving at 20 km below the limit doesn’t make you “safer” than other drivers. Not driving within the safe speed limit and causes other drivers to get fed up and do stupid things to get around you. That is why in Quebec and other jurisdictions, there are minimum speed limits which are usually about 10 km less than the maximum. Driving 20 km under the limit under normal road conditions is just as dangerous as driving over it.

Get over yourself and get over the mentality that the car you drive makes you a better person and therefore, a better and safer driver.

Now… don’t get me started on Subaru drivers….

7 Comments

  1. September 1, 2016 at 10:22 pm

    I am the opposite Volvo driver. I hate how everyone takes so damn long to get out of everyone elses way, so I always get out of the way as quickly as possible and I always drive at least 5-over.

  2. Stephen Spender said,

    November 11, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    What you wrote is not true. You can not judge all the drivers on the basis of one, if you saw him. You’re exaggerating.

    • mudhooks said,

      November 11, 2012 at 11:15 pm

      My opinion is “not true”? Me “exaggerate”? Me? I’ve said it a billion times “I NEVER exaggerate!”!

      Fact. My experience has been that whenever I encounter a person driving a Volvo they are invariably driving far less than the posted speed limit for no apparent reason. If you have never been in my car with me you cannot possibly say that my experience involving Volvo drivers is not true.

      And, I can assure you, my observation is based on far more than “one” driver. I spend most days on the road so have base my opinion on observing hundreds of Volvo drivers in action.

  3. okraphil said,

    May 5, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    No way. I drive pretty fast in my brick. 😉

    • mudhooks said,

      May 6, 2012 at 10:03 am

      I will admit that on a very rare occasion, I have seen a speedy Volvo… You are a rarity. I salute you! 🙂

  4. okraphil said,

    May 5, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    No way. I drive pretty fast in my brick! 😉


Leave a Reply

