Done

So… the move is effectively finished.

The cleaners come in tomorrow and a friend is coming over on Saturday to help me wash the windows (the cleaners “don’t do windows”).

I haven’t yet tackled the garden, either cleaning or taking the plants I want. However, since they will still be working in the house putting in new carpets and the hall and kitchen tiles and then painting, the place won’t be ready for anyone to move in for a while, yet.

Of course, I have had people coming up and asking if they can have any plants and flowers I don’t want. Apparently, everyone likes my garden. I thought everyone hated it because it is a jungle.

Removing the plants and flowers I want to move here will take some time because some of them are just ready to bloom. I can’t even dig up the bulbs, yet, because they have to wait until the foliage is done. Unfortunately, things like my Alium are REALLY good this year and my new garden won’t have the benefit of them. Also, moving plants generally stops them blooming again for at least one year.

However, it will give me a change to put the compost which has been collecting for a number of years in and get the soil ready for the plants to come over.

As long as what happened to another former neighbours’ garden doesn’t happen to mine.

The other neighbour had a beautiful wildflower garden. For years she had been bringing in plants from all over the countryside and it was beautiful. She had promised several neighbours that when she left they could help themselves. The day after she moved out another neighbour and her mother who doesn’t even live in the co-op came in and tore the garden apart. They just ripped out the plants and threw them out.

The same woman (the mother) just takes it upon herself to do things here without any sort of concern as to whether she has a right to do so or whether the interference is necessary. She’s the sort that is very “prim and proper” but rude and disrespectful of others who she sees as being blow her.

The first official day we were in our new home, the satellite installer came. He opened one of the utility boxes on the side of our house and just about had a heart attack when the little red squirrel who lives in the back area came bursting out. It turns out that the squirrel had a nest in the utility box. We carefully closed the box and later the squirrel went back in to his (her?) nest.

That was Friday. On Sunday morning, Mom and I were pulling into our parking space just as the mother rounded the corner carrying a piece of panelling with the nest on it and dumped it in the parking lot. Thank goodness there were no babies in the nest (and lucky for her or I would have called the Humane Society). Not only did she not have a right to mess with the nest because she doesn’t LIVE here but it it is just plain wrong. The nest wasn’t interfering with anything. It was on the side of MY house. AND disturbing it means that the squirrel might decide to move somewhere “safer” like someone’s attic.

Besides. This is a little squirrel. Hardly a rat and doing no one any harm.

I just don’t understand some people.

7 Comments

  1. May 25, 2010 at 3:37 am

    Sometimes it is just better to buy boxes. We have had great good luck with wine cases over the years though. Not a lot of tropical spiders in wine regions.

    That woman is seriously deranged. Honestly, I’m surprised she has not been murdered yet. If your life was an episode of Law and Order, she would definitely have starred as a murder victim. I once postulated that if I followed my desire to kill litterers that the police would be stymied because they would never figure out the motive.

    Good luck moving your garden. You are a lot further north, so your bulbs are probably behind mine, but I have have found in the past if I dig them up and go and plant them immediately without removing their foliage that quite often they will bloom for me the next year. Imagine having a clean palette for your garden artistry. How fun!

  2. zeusiswatching said,

    May 19, 2010 at 1:29 am

    I’m glad to hear your move is mostly done. We are only beginning. Our house is filling up with boxes from helpful retailers around town only to happy to have someone haul away all their cardboard boxes. My wife has the game-plan and I am simply filling boxes and bringing home more of them and newspapers for wrapping.

    • mudhooks said,

      May 19, 2010 at 2:09 am

      I was very lucky in the paper department. I was buying two Saturday papers and the clerk asked why I was buying two. I said ”
      I’m moving” and he went into the back about brought me out a stack of papers about a foot and a half high. Generally speaking, they aren’t supposed to give old papers away but he did.

      As for boxes, I bought mine from U-Haul just so that they were relatively uniform in size.

      One caution about getting boxes from shops…. NEVER use fruit or vegetable boxes. There are often infested with cockroaches and often TROPICAL cockroaches which can be enormous… They can sometimes have tropical spiders and other insects, too.

      • zeusiswatching said,

        May 19, 2010 at 6:53 am

        Good point on that one. Of course, we are moving to Florida so the monster bugs are probably just waiting for us on the front porch.

        • mudhooks said,

          May 19, 2010 at 7:50 am

          There is that!

          My brother-in-law is a grocery store manager and I have heard some horror stories about the monster spiders and other crawlies they have found in the produce over the years.

        • azahar said,

          May 20, 2010 at 1:52 am

          Not “probably”…

          • zeusiswatching said,

            May 22, 2010 at 6:55 pm

            Perhaps I should not buy a swatter? You have me convinced that I should bring a splatter gun and get a hunting license.


Leave a Reply

