PhotoHunter: Vertical

As luck would have it, just before starting to look for photos for this, I came across something which I will include as an addendum to my post… Trust me… VERT-I-CAL!

As for MY vertical, for some time I have been taking photos with my camera lens aimed vertically. It’s amazing what you see when you just look up!

The Icarus Project

NASA has been expressing interest in a project crafted by Robert Harrison of England.

While NASA spends millions on every space project, Robert Harrison has spent about $6000 USD to send his Canon A560 up 35km in a homemade housing attached to a helium weather balloon…. and gotten back stunning images and video.

Now THAT’S vertical!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

20 Comments

  1. nursemyra said,

    April 14, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Is that chard? I thought it was rhubarb. Whatever – it’s a fantastic shot

  2. Race said,

    April 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

    great vertical shots you have here, each is beautifully captured, love them all!

    mine’s up at
    http://www.facilityserv.net/2010/04/ph208-vertical-tree.html

  3. Julie said,

    April 11, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    good take on the theme

  4. April 11, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Great shots Anneke. I love them!

  5. Sara Cat said,

    April 11, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Sorry, that wasn’t grass, something else that I don’t know the name of in English. Kaveldun in Swedish.
    Sara Cat

    • mudhooks said,

      April 14, 2010 at 3:06 am

      Swiss Chard, in English. The colours in the garden were amazing!

  6. Sara Cat said,

    April 11, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    The from-outer-space-photos are ok. But your perspective up from the rhubarb plant and the grass are simply wonderful! Love it! Finally a two-leg who trys to understand our point of view!
    Purrs,
    Sara Cat

    http://christina-smycken.blogspot.com/2010/04/photohunt-theme-208-vertical-fotojakt.html

  7. Marta said,

    April 10, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    The chard is very nice – very artistic. You could probably have fun with some of the filters in photoshop with that photo. Nice take and nice photos.

  8. Lisa said,

    April 10, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    GOR-geous! You and I are thinking along the same lines this week . . . but I think your shots are better.

    Oh, and thank you for telling me about the Icarus Project — I’m off to see more in the ‘web about it!

  9. Annie said,

    April 10, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    These are awesome! I really love the chard. And thanks for sharing the Icarus Project too. Great post!

  10. Scott said,

    April 10, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Looks like you’ve been looking up from way down low. Really nice though. I like your “angle” on the vertical theme.

  11. azahar said,

    April 10, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    That top one looks a bit like the CN Tower!

  12. Julie said,

    April 10, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    wow, amazing view from the top! 🙂

  13. April 10, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Beautiful shots! It gave me ideas on how to take pictures from different angles.

  14. April 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    interesting captures. i absolutely like your first shot.

  15. Gemma said,

    April 10, 2010 at 11:25 am

    A fantastic variety of vertical shots! Some have quite a dizzy perspective!

    I must also thank you for telling me the name of my unknown flower! The lilac heart of petals looked so different from the outer white petals! I was enchanted! To think it only flowers for a day and I was fortunate enough to see it! O wow! Thank you again!

  16. Kay said,

    April 10, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Very nice photos! I loved it!

    I am up at http://lifeiskulayful.blogspot.com/
    Do visit me and leave a comment! Happy photo hunt!
    I have a different take on the theme.

  17. ewok1993 said,

    April 10, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Not just vertical – superb photos too.

    • SandraK said,

      April 10, 2010 at 1:18 pm

      WOW, amazing photos. Love both of your vertical shots, really thinking out of the box. Happy weekend.


Leave a Reply

