PhotoHunter: “Tied”

The theme this week had me stumped for a bit. However, in the tradition of Archiearchive (though certainly not as… inventive…), I am going for the “loosely connected” contribution.

Theodore Tugboat, Halifax Harbour

Theodore Tugboat, Halifax Harbour

Theodore Tugboat managed to remain safe and sound through Hurricane Juan and we see him tied the dock in Halifax Harbour. He might be tied to a bollard like the one below.

photohunter7iq1

Hawser

Bollard, Galop Canal, Cardinal, Ontario

When my friends, Gilles and Gordon, tied the knot, they had the Rainbow Banner which went right round Fellowship Hall at the First Unitarian Church of Ottawa. Same-sex marriage is legal in Canada, I am proud to say.

Rainbow Banner

Rainbow Banner

My father would never tell me anything about his family and until my 40s, had no connection to anyone on his side. I was finally able to find my relatives in Iowa, as well as long-lost half-sister. Now I find a past and that I am tied to a long history (which includes many of the royal families of Western Europe, especially Scotland, Saint Margaret of Scotland, being just one!). Below are the Comer and Houchins families on the occasion of my GG Grandfather, Joseph Baker Comer’s 75 birthday, and Beulah Comer’s 1st birthday. Joseph B. was a Private in the 7th  North Virginia Cavalry during the American Civil War.

My GG Grandmother, Angeline Smith, (who reminds me of Toad of Toad Hall) sits beside him.

On the left hand end of the second row are my other GG Parents, Tom Houchins and Elizabeth Ellison. My G Grandparents, Harvey Houchins  and Mellie Comer are just to the right of the severe lady (Dessie Dickerson, Mellie’s sister), and my grandfather, Delroy Houchins) is in the back row (the boy with the “big hair”).

Comer and Houchins families, 1904 or 1905

Comer and Houchins families, 1904 or 1905

(reverse)

(reverse)

It was low tide in Malagash, New Brunswick, when I snapped this photo of the moon low on the horizon. It was also October and we were camping. We woke to front on the ground and inside as well as outside out tent. Breakfast was at Tim Hortons, that morning!

Moon, Malagash, New Brunswick

Moon, Malagash, New Brunswick

7 Comments

  1. October 26, 2009 at 1:05 am

    I love your take on the theme. A very belated happy weekend

  2. Jag said,

    October 25, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Wow! Interesting!

  3. Alice Audrey said,

    October 25, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Is that thing for real? The Theodore Tugboat I mean.

    • mudhooks said,

      October 25, 2009 at 12:33 pm

      Sure is… An actual tug-sized tug…

  4. azahar said,

    October 25, 2009 at 2:49 am

    Nooooo … stretching it too far with low “tide”! (and you knew it)

    And Theodore Tugboat looks kind of creepy, in a scary clown sort of way.

    But an impressive collection of pics for someone who was stumped.

    • mudhooks said,

      October 25, 2009 at 3:01 am

      It must have been weird to see him bobbing about in the churning seas with that demented look on his…. ummmm… smokestack.

  5. chubskulit said,

    October 25, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Wow so many tied photos, love the rainbow banner during the wedding day, quite unique!

    Mine can be found here


Leave a Reply

