PhotoHunter… Free Week

Hmmm… Whatever we want…

My thoughts went immediately to the Benevolent Postcard Society. I jumped at the chance to join this little venture when I first heard about it.

“A postcard exchange and art project in one, the aim of the Benevolent Postcard Society is to bring a smile to its members through the random exchange of postcards from September 2009 to September 2010. At the beginning of each month, members send a cheerful, amusing, inspiring, pretty or quirky postcard to each other — either handmade or readymade. At the end of the year, all the postcards exchanged will be collected and published as a book, the final result of a year’s sharing of good karma through random acts of kindness.”

You send a card, you get a card. Unfortunately, joining is not possible at this point. We are hoping we can do it again next year. So much fun!

September was the first mailing and I have to admit I was a bit conservative and sent out a postcard that I had bought back in 1973 and never mailed.

Omonia Square, Athens

Omonia Square, Athens 1960s

In return, I got…

Hello

Hello

This month, I sent out…

"June Bride"

"June Bride"

This was a detail from one of my found object sculptures, called “June Bride”. I had digitally “played” with the image, by manually rendering it within my program (basically, rubbing the surface as you would a chalk drawing) and then playing with the colour. I love this piece.

I was late in getting it off, as I was in quarantine and had to wait until I could get someone to come over and bring me ink cartridges for my printer and take the postcard to mail for me. I was really worried as to whether or not my printer was actually going to produce a photo. My sister bought it three years ago and when I first tried to print photos, I couldn’t get it to print anything but horrible pixillated images. No matter what I did, it simply would not print a photo.

So I just used it for printing letters.

With trepidation I tried it and while some of the images didn’t seem to print out in the same colour values or density of colour, it was working. I printed out a number of favourite images as postcards but this was the one I settled on. Unfortunately, so far, I am unable to find an adequately thick postcard stock that is the right size and I settled for the freebie 5×7 photo sheets that come with Canon photo papers. They look great, but I don’t know if the card will survive the mailing.

I haven’t heard from the recipient, yet and am still waiting for my card. But since mine had to go to the UK (and was almost a week late in being sent off) and mine could have come from anywhere in the world, it could take some time.

16 Comments

  1. bing said,

    October 18, 2009 at 10:37 am

    postcards such as those make impacts… nice.

  2. October 17, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    What a great idea! Happy weekend

  3. October 17, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    A postcard exchange! What a great idea! Too bad it’s not open for membership currently.

    I did like your 1973 postcard!

    Enjoy your weekend!
    Mrs. Mecomber
    http://newyorktraveler.net

  4. RJ Flamingo said,

    October 17, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    What a great project! I’m not clever enough to think of such things, and am always impressed with those who do. 🙂

  5. Candi said,

    October 17, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    That sounds like a fabulous idea!Lovely postcards.

  6. chubskulit said,

    October 17, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Lovely postcard!

    Here’s my entry

  7. October 17, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I heard about it too late. 😦 But it looks as though it is proving a great success. I love the idea.

  8. CY said,

    October 17, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Wow, postcards as old as 1970’s! Cool! Have a great weekend. CY

  9. upto6only said,

    October 17, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    oh i love collecting postcards. i joined postcrossing and received many cards already. kind of enjoying it.

  10. HOOTIN' ANNI said,

    October 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    What a great idea…I bet it WAS fun!!!!

    Mine is posted HERE

    Hope you can come visit and leave a comment….have a great weekend.

  11. azahar said,

    October 17, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Very cool. And I’ve always liked June Bride too.

  12. Randi said,

    October 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    What a wonderful idea.
    Lovely postcards.

  13. julie said,

    October 17, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    I love that first photo 🙂

  14. Mar said,

    October 17, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Beautiful project, great postcards, and an original contribution to the free theme!!
    Happy weekend and happy PH, my choice is posted here.

  15. October 17, 2009 at 11:47 am

    That is a really cool idea. And some neat images as well. Love the yellow car 🙂

  16. Criz Lai said,

    October 17, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Wow! I have not seen any postcard for so long. Those are beautiful!


Leave a Reply

