Alice….

My lovely and beloved sister-in-law, Alice died at 6 am, today, with my brother John and her sister by her side.

Alice and Mom

Alice and Mom

True to her nature, up until the few days before she died, she was cheerful and full of loving energy. Everyone on her floor, patients and staff, were charmed by her.

My brother laughed over the fact that a couple of days ago, when the doctors and interns were making their rounds, Alice spotted the very reserved and proper young Japanese intern and waved him over “Come here, You!”, hauled him onto the bed and hugged him soundly.

The next day, he made sure to stay at the back of the crowd. That was just who she was. Loved everyone!

My niece recalled her leaving Ange’s face covered with red lipstick smudges from the kisses she gave her.

I remember her always, despite her pain and tiredness from Fibromyalgia, being ready with a smile and a hug and a kiss.

She tried to resist having her photo taken last November but I said “You decrepit old Nan wants a photo of you with her… ” so she acquiesced. I am glad she did. It is the only photo I have of her.

I am glad that she didn’t suffer the same way my dear friend Carol did at the end. I couldn’t bear it. Alice was comfortable and at ease when she went.

She will be missed.

7 Comments

  1. nursemyra said,

    October 7, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Sorry to read this, glad it was a peaceful end

  2. VioletSky said,

    October 6, 2009 at 6:26 am

    My condolences.

  3. hannah78 said,

    October 5, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    My sympathies. She sounded like a very courageous woman.:)

  4. zeusiswatching said,

    October 4, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Memory eternal.

  5. October 4, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear your news Anneke. My thoughts are with you

  6. azahar said,

    October 4, 2009 at 8:42 am

    More hugs…

  7. Wandering Coyote said,

    October 4, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I am so sorry to hear this. My thoughts are with you…


Leave a Reply

