The Polish Airman (belated…) update….

Back in March 3, 2007, I put up a posting about “my Polish airman” and how I had always wondered what happened to him. I THOUGHT I had added the update to the story which came in the form of an email on the morning of March 4, 2007. In fact, I didn’t and I was VERY remiss not to have done so.

In fact, that morning, I received an email from Chris Dreja who some will know as a member of the very famous band, The Yardbirds. I think, at first, he thought I was some long-lost love-child of his father’s by a girl he met during the war. I think he was relieved to find out I wasn’t and interested to know how I, or my mother, anyway, knew his father.

In any event, Chris Dreja informed me that Alojzy Dreja was, indeed, his father. I was over the moon to have received this news as well as a photo of Alojzy and his wife on their wedding day in 1943.

Kindly sent to me by Chris Dreja

Kindly sent to me by Chris Dreja

Alojzy left the Polish Air Royal Force ( as a Major) at the end of the war and had a successful career in aviation. He was well liked and very much loved by his 3 sons. As I mentioned, he died in 1985.

You can see on his chest the medal, the Virtuti Militari, which was one of the medals given to members of the Polish Forces.

Alojzy may well be somewhere in one of the photos, here, during ceremonies. I have looked through many photos but can’t pick him out.

For the background to the story, click HERE.

— from Parke Puterbaugh liner notes to Rhino’s Greatest Hits, Vol. 1, 1964-1966

— from Parke Puterbaugh liner notes to Rhino’s Greatest Hits, Vol. 1, 1964-1966

That’s Chris Dreja on the far right… I think you can see a resemblance, in spite of the presence of the dark glasses.

2 Comments

  1. Matt said,

    December 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/300PolishSquadron/

    I thought you’d like to see this site – orginally dedicated to 300 sq but now includes other PAF squadrons

    Also this site :

    http://www.polishsquadronsremembered.com/

    • mudhooks said,

      December 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      Yes, I’ve seen that site. I was in contact with the group in the past. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

