Pet Pride: R.I.P. Maple…

Maple...

Maple...

My brother called me to tell me that his family’s beloved friend, Maple, died, today. She was 13 years old and had just had surgery to remove a large cyst on her side. The vet called and told them they should take her home. Once home, she died. My brother tried mouth-to-mouth but it didn’t work. Poor Maple….

She was a Boxer/Mastiff mix. Because her tail had never been cropped, she could clear a table when she was happy which was a lot of the time. She would bully you into letting her onto the couch when she knew she wasn’t supposed to be there. I used to warm my toes after swimming by tucking them into her soft, warm underbelly. She never seemed to mind.

She will be greatly missed….

6 Comments

  1. zeusiswatching said,

    August 2, 2009 at 7:48 am

    The passing of a family pet is really hard. We all felt the loss when our family’s cat of some 14 years finally died.

    This dog looks like a content, happy family member.

    • mudhooks said,

      August 2, 2009 at 8:17 am

      She was, indeed. My brother was beside himself when he called to tell us.

  2. azahar said,

    July 31, 2009 at 10:23 am

    What a happy face!

    And what sad news. 😦

  3. bozo said,

    July 30, 2009 at 9:13 am

    may maple’s soul rest in peace and may she have a great time in doggie heaven. my heartfelt condolences to all bereaved..

    bozo

    Pet Pride

    • mudhooks said,

      July 30, 2009 at 9:20 am

      Thanks… She was a wonderful girl. My brother and his wife were devastated. I know the kids were, as well. Maple had been around them for nearly their whole lives.

  4. July 30, 2009 at 6:33 am

    She’s so beautiful…


Leave a Reply

