Botanical Gardens, Experimental Farm, Ottawa

The peonies were finally all in bloom at the Experimental Farm. I go every year to photograph them. Unfortunately, this year they aren’t at their best. Usually, they are all pretty well in bloom at the same time. This year, there were blooming spradically over the past two week. The day I went, there were many which were just beginning to bloom, some in full bloom, and others in various stages of dropping their petals.

However, I was able to get some fairly good photos. Just not as many as in other years… 2005, 2006, 2007

Here are a few favorites from this year, followed by a few of the Foxgloves and Columbine. I am very proud of those ones! All the rest can be seen here.

Pink Peony

Pink Peony

More Pink Peonies

More Pink Peonies

Red Peony

Red Peony

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Foxglove

Foxglove

16 Comments

  1. fansa said,

    March 13, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Hi
    nice pics ! do they also sell any flowers over there?

    • mudhooks said,

      March 13, 2010 at 11:21 am

      Thanks!

      They have plant sales every summer as a fund-raiser.

  2. Randi said,

    July 4, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    The light-blue columbine with the blue sky is just stunning!!!!

  3. Dawn Fine said,

    June 24, 2009 at 4:26 am

    Gorgeous captures! Love the floxgove in the clouds!

  4. Vicki said,

    June 20, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    These are amazing. That first columbine one is especially nice.

    I don’t think there’s any flower more fun than big, ruffled, pink peonies. They make me feel like a little girl again when I see them.

  5. June 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Oh my goodness..is this a sight for my rained out-lack of sun eyes. You caught the creamy look of the peonies just wonderfully and the other flowers just come to life..Lately I have been taking somewhat blurry photos…sigh.. These are just stunning..Thank you for adding them to Nature Notes…Michelle

    • mudhooks said,

      June 20, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      I was STUNNED by the sharpness of the photos!… at least the ones of the Columbine and Foxgloves. The resolution in my camera has been terrible, lately. I don’t know what to attribute the sharpness to, all of a sudden, but I am not about to look a gift horse in the mouth, photo-wise…

    • mudhooks said,

      June 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm

      PS… check the link to the originals on Fotki. LOTS more. It was hard to pick just a few for the blog post.

  6. RJ Flamingo said,

    June 19, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    You’re right about the columbine and foxgloves – the columbine look positively magical!

  7. azahar said,

    June 19, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Stunning!

    I am stunned.

    • mudhooks said,

      June 19, 2009 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks… I was quite stunned, myself, with the results. My camera has been churning out a lot of good but slightly not sharp images, lately. I was very surprised to see the sharpness of these, esp. that columbine and foxgloves…

  8. June 19, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I love columbine and foxglove is one of my favourite wild flowers. These are beautiful shots!

  9. J. said,

    June 19, 2009 at 3:06 am

    wow, the first two photos make the flowers look like paper flowers. Impressive.


Leave a Reply

