PhotoHunter: Advertisement

This week’s PhotoHunter theme is “Advertisement”. Coincidentally, I was driving along Richmond Road, in Ottawa’s Westboro neighbourhood when I saw that a building had been torn down, revealing a 1920s-era painted wall advertisement. Previously, if was only visible from an alley between the two buildings. Which is why I never saw it before.

Unfortunately, the building upon which it is painted is slated for demolition. The whole Westboro neighbourhood which has long been a quiet one with trendy shops is now busy, with more and more high-end trendy shops going in. Like many such neighbourhoods, it is falling victim to its own charm and many of the charming old buildings are being torn down and replaced by swank condominiums and expensive shops.

The sign has advertisements for Imperial Premier Gasoline and Stevenson Hardware. Stevenson Hardware had advertisements in the 1927 “History of Westboro”.

Westboro Painted advertisement ca. 1927

Westboro painted advertisement ca. 1927

photohunter7iq1…and probably the most Canadian of advertisements… appropriately photographed on Canada Day. This sign is on the outside wall of a former Hudson’s Bay Post along the Upper Ottawa River, at Fort William, Quebec. Again, you can’t get more Canadian than that, can you?

Drink "Canada Dry"

Drink "Canada Dry"

And now that I think about it, a little personal advertisement for my favorite beer. I don’t normally like beer but I DO like Beau’s “Lug*Tread”, a new local brewery. What you can’t see here is the etched tractor in the bottom of the glass. A really nice beer with a really nice glass.

Beau's "Lug*Tred" Lagered Ale

Beau's "Lug*Tred" Lagered Ale

31 Comments

  1. June 16, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I love the Canada Dry one – a classic!
    And that first one looks ancient…

  2. alantru said,

    June 8, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Love the Canada Dry. The sign and the beverage.

  3. Mar said,

    June 8, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Love those old adverts! I remember drinking Canada Dry when I was a kid (that’s loooooong ago, lol)
    Great choices for the theme 🙂

  4. June 7, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    My favorite one is the building. I love history and seeing that on the wall really allows your mind to wonder to a different era.

    • mudhooks said,

      June 7, 2009 at 7:45 pm

      It is also a reminder that these things are disappearing fast. I went looking fro another wall which used to be visible just a couple of years ago, with an ad for a tailoring shop. It has either been painted over or the building torn down. I WAS able to get a photo of one building in the downtown core which still exists. I will be posting that shortly.

  5. June 7, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I agree that it is a shame that it is going to be torn down….I love the old signs that you sometimes see on barn roofs…

  6. June 7, 2009 at 5:58 am

    I love the first sshot. Shame it will be demolished. As for drinking Canada dry, I don’t think I have it in me!

    • mudhooks said,

      June 7, 2009 at 9:40 am

      “As for drinking Canada dry, I don’t think I have it in me!”

      Slowly but surely…

  7. Mariposa said,

    June 6, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    All good photos!

    Mariposa’s PhotoHunt

  8. Charlotte said,

    June 6, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    All of your shots are so interesting but I love the first one. One of the many reasons I love living in New Orleans is that we take pains to preserve the past.
    That old ad is way more interesting and unique than the sleekest condo could ever be.

    Great job!

  9. justjody said,

    June 6, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    such a shame tearing down the past and calling it progress. it would be nicer and much “greener” to retrofit the old building. love the ads.

  10. Cindy O said,

    June 6, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Aloha from Hawaii!!

    Hmmm Canada dry–in fact I drank those before. Great take for this week’s PH theme.
    Happy photohunting!
    http://upcountrysmiles.com
    Stop by & visit!

  11. Tara R. said,

    June 6, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Such a wonderful discovery. I hope the owners don’t paint over these old advertisements.

  12. srp said,

    June 6, 2009 at 8:26 am

    I love the old advertisements of brands long ago discontinued on the sides of old buildings. Smaller towns have these more often than larger cities…. but then they have less graffiti too.
    My hunt is up here.

  13. Karen said,

    June 6, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Great photos for the theme! Happy weekend!

  14. YTSL said,

    June 6, 2009 at 6:58 am

    I love microbrews too!!! 🙂

  15. gengen said,

    June 6, 2009 at 6:51 am

    Nice old adverts…happy weekend. TC mine is ready…

  16. RJ Flamingo said,

    June 6, 2009 at 5:51 am

    I do love those old adverts painted on the sides of buildings – a shame that one is slated for the wrecker’s ball. I agree – how could you not love a beer whose logo is a tractor? 🙂

    Thanks for visiting mine and have a great weekend!

  17. Sandy said,

    June 6, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Love those ads on old buildings…

    Mine’s up, too
    http://sandyben.blogspot.com/

  18. Gigi Griffis said,

    June 6, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Great! I always loved Canada Dry Gingerale!

  19. Sue said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Love the “drink Canada Dry” one 🙂 Great series of photos Happy Weekend!

  20. Anna said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:27 am

    Your second shot is gorgeous!!
    I just love those old advertisements.

    Have a great weekend!
    Anna

  21. azahar said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Nice selection, mudhooks. I’m a sucker for old signs too.

  22. leslie said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Those are great photos of advertisements! 🙂 Well done for this week. 😉

    http://lesliesmyers.blogspot.com/2009/06/photohunt-advertisement-for-famous.html

  23. nikolaykotev said,

    June 6, 2009 at 2:55 am

    Dear Friend!
    I have a new blog for modern and contemporary world history – “Nikolaykotev’s Blog” with URL: http://nikolaykotev.wordpress.com/ .If you want, you can see it on this adress!
    Best wishes
    Nikolay Kotev
    NEWS: approximately 1000 photos from the Second World War

  24. HOOTIN' ANNI said,

    June 6, 2009 at 2:32 am

    I love Canada Dry Ginger Ale! And I love your advertisement photos.

    Mine is posted. Kinda lame this week, but I did the best I could. LOL

    Happy Saturday. Happy Hunting.

    • mudhooks said,

      June 6, 2009 at 2:57 am

      Thanks!

      And I have added another photo which I should have remembered!

  25. June 6, 2009 at 2:09 am

    Had a few of them (Canada Dry’s) here in the Land of Oz. Excellent choices – I love those old advertisements.

    btw, I don’t know what the problem is with my photo hunt – everyone else seems to see it 😦

    • mudhooks said,

      June 6, 2009 at 2:57 am

      No, it was a problem at my end. BTW, I have added one more photo. How COULD I forget!!!???


Leave a Reply

