Ospreys

For the last few years, I have been watching the annual nesting activities of a pair (at least I THINK it is the same pair) of Ospreys. The nest is at Nicholson’s Locks, along the historic Rideau Canal system.

The Rideau Canal waterway

The Rideau Canal waterway

There are also a couple of other nests (one outside Merrickville, and one along Donnelly Drive, east of Burritt’s Rapids) the  but this has, so far, been the one that is the easiest to watch.

A couple of weeks ago, however, I located a new nest that I must have passed a number of times and not seen. It is along County Road 19 (River Road), on the east side of the Rideau River, and is about 2/3 of the way between Kemptville and Manotick (closer to Manotick).

The nest is close enough to get a really good look at the male sitting out on a nearby branch and to see the head of the female popping her head up over the edge of the nest. There is also no powerline in the middle of your photos and the view across the river is trees rather than buildings or hydro pylons and things.

The first time we noticed the nest, the pair were actively mating. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me so wasn’t able to get photos. Now, they are actively nest-sitting.

I went down last Sunday and tooks some great photos of the nest against the sunset. Unfortunately, my littl digital camera doesn’t have a telephoto lens so I can’t take any real close-ups. I took a couple of sharp but very shaky videos using my binoculars as a make-shift telephoto but it didn’t work at all well for the still shots.

This weekend we found 4 active nests, including this one.

So here are the shots from last weekend.

The nest at sunset with the male in the tree to the right.

The nest at sunset with the male in the tree to the right.

The male in the tree. The "moon" is just from using the binoculars.

The male in the tree. The "moon" is just from using the binoculars as a telephoto.

The male taking over nesting duties.

The male taking over nesting duties.

Sunset

Sunset

2 Comments

  1. May 11, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    This is a very evocative set of photos. I love ospreys, but the only time we see them around here is when they are migrating through. Then if you are in the right place at the right time you might see one fishing in the river. Great sunset. Makes me want a rum drink for some reason. Must be because I am used to grenadine at the bottom of the concoctions Jim makes for my drinking pleasure.

  2. May 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Anneke..this are wonderful…I think that when you catch the ‘feeling’ of what you were seeing is the important thing and you got that beautifully. If people want the perfect photo of any bird, they can go to a guide book. I prefer seeing the atmosphere…Of course..I may be strange…LOL…..Michelle


Leave a Reply

