PhotoHunter: Hands

Some time ago, I started a series called “Hands”. I have slowly been adding to it but these are the three ones, so far.

"My Mother's Hands"

"My Mother's Hands"

photohunter7iq1

"Grubby Fingers"

"Grubby Fingers"

"Ring Finger"

"Ring Finger"

"Ring Finger" posterized

"Ring Finger" posterized

"Ring Finger"

"Ring Finger"

The following is a photo, though it is one I took of a particular scene in the film “Lost in Translation” when Bob (Bill Murray) and Charlotte (Scarlett Johansson) are drifting off while talking. Bob reaches down and pats Charlotte’s foot. Possibly one of the most tender and yet charged gestures in film…. I took the initial image and manipulated it both digitally and by hand as a chalk drawing. These are two of the progressions.

"(Not) Lost in Translation"

"(Not) Lost in Translation"

"(Not) Lost in Translation" 2

"(Not) Lost in Translation" 2

26 Comments

  1. *lynne* said,

    April 2, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Oh what great pix!

    – What are the “grubby fingers” caressing – a very large dog?
    – I *love* the ring design!!

    Thanks for checking out my entries already 🙂

    *lynne*

    • mudhooks said,

      April 3, 2009 at 5:49 am

      The grubby hand is mine and that is one of my sister’s Paso Fino horses that she raises. My nails actually look half-decent there… Usually, they are really raggedy.

      I love that ring, too. Both are those ones with a free-moving inner ring so you can roll it around… sort of a stress reliever.

  2. Chikai said,

    March 31, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    i like those rings! tfs!

    btw, thanks for checking out my entry. see yah next saturday! 🙂

  3. luna miranda said,

    March 29, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    all amazing shots! the posterized ring finger is my favorite.

  4. March 29, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Nice collection on subject of “hands”. I enjoyed the manipulation of the photos. Keep up the good work.

  5. Lisa C. said,

    March 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Great Shots

  6. tokenhippygirl said,

    March 29, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Wow… so great. Very cool shots.

  7. azahar said,

    March 29, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Just lovely, Mudhooks.

  8. Bengbeng said,

    March 29, 2009 at 4:39 am

    comprehensive coverage of the theme hands…u r great in photoshop

  9. Arlene said,

    March 28, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Lovely set of “hands” photos. A mother’s hands are always beautiful for me. 🙂

    Happy Sunday and thanks for visiting my “hands”

  10. JC said,

    March 28, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Those are some super shots and very interesting manips. I love your Mother’s Hands… very nice work 🙂

  11. March 28, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    A nice selection and I do remember that in Lost In Translation…

  12. March 28, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I was pretty proud of my contribution until I came over here and visited a real artist.

  13. Anna said,

    March 28, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    I love these shots, the effects ones are of course my favorites! 🙂

    Way to go! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  14. liz said,

    March 28, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Very artistic and creative!

  15. Candi said,

    March 28, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Nice hand shots, and the effects are great.
    Thanks for stopping by mine.

  16. srp said,

    March 28, 2009 at 10:57 am

    These are lovely… I love the first one especially with the pod… the name of that escapes me right now, but I saw them used in Christmas wreaths at Colonial Williamsburg and they are just lovely! Mine is up here.

  17. aliceaudrey said,

    March 28, 2009 at 9:37 am

    So the theme was just right for you.

  18. Aileni said,

    March 28, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Brilliant collection.

  19. Dianne said,

    March 28, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Amazing photos. Love how you photoshop many of these.
    The link on the Photo Hunt site is for ‘yellow’ which are wonderful too!

  20. RJ Flamingo said,

    March 28, 2009 at 8:16 am

    These are really interesting… the manipulation of the hand/foot image is amazing!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  21. March 28, 2009 at 5:23 am

    Great shots. I love the way you have manipulated the images. They look great!

  22. Julie said,

    March 28, 2009 at 3:20 am

    These are fun photos 🙂

    Happy weekend!

  23. Pat said,

    March 28, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Great hands – love all of the effects.

    Happy Weekend.

  24. magiceye said,

    March 28, 2009 at 12:07 am

    beautifully composed and captured and designed too!

  25. March 27, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    What a great, imaginative set of hands. Mine is just plebeian by comparison.


Leave a Reply

