New Toy…

Well, less a “toy” than a necessary computer accessory.

Price Club/Costco had a range of the Western Digital external and portable hard drives available and I got my sister to pick up a portable one for me. The Passport Elite has a range of storage capacity versions from 250 gb to 500 gb. I got the 320 gb one for $119.00 CDN.  It is about the size of a pocket notebook and uses a USB cable (which is the same type as I need for my Bamboo Tablet and my digital camera. It comes with a USB cable but it is really too short to hook to my own computer but it is handy for when I have to take stuff to and from work. It also comes with a carrying case.

I transferred all my photos and videos I currently have stored on my internal hard-drive, plus all my music and have something like 318 gbs free. That means I should be able to download many of the photos I have stored on Fotki.

As an added bonus for people who have a laptop as well as desktop, it comes with software which allows you to sync all your programs you need and automatically update everything. It also allows you to manage and store your Outlook email from anywhere. Since everything is stored on the encrypted drive, nothing is actually shared if, for instance, you have to use an internet cafe somewhere

WD Sync™ synchronization and encryption software lets you take your critical data with you. Plug My Passport into any PC, edit files, read e-mail, and view photos. Then sync all of your changes back to your home or office computer. Your data is protected with 128-bit encryption. (Windows only)

For the desktop versions, you can snazz them up using a variety of custom skins.

Passport Elite 250 gb external hard drive

Passport Elite 250 gb external hard drive

1 Comment

  1. azahar said,

    March 24, 2009 at 9:12 am

    I got something similar last year. Love it!


Leave a Reply

