How I did it…

I have had a couple of questions from people wbout how I do some of my photo-enhancing to arrive at some of my more unusual photos.

I thought I would share, when I can some of the processes. I don’t always have the presence of mind to preserve a record of the steps but when I can, I will.

I don’t use Photoshop, although I do have Photoshop Elements 6.0, I don’t particularly like it because I don’t seem to be able to get around some of the processes. I use the freebie that came with my camera, Photostudio 5.5. I find it simple and intuitive and I am doing more of the work. It does have some flaws such as not being able to gently sharpen… it has set light sharpen, heavy sharpen… so I tend to flip over to the editing software in Picasa for a few of the processes it offers. Since it is free, as well, it appeals to my Scottish thriftiness (lol!).

So… for the first installment of “How I did it…” I thought I would illustrate the “hologram effect” that I achieved with the last photo in my “PhotoHunter: Four” photos.

The first image was:

Original image

Original image

The image was accidentally uploaded to my Fotki page as a small file 480 x 448 pix. and I lost the original so I had to enlarge it before I could do anything.  I enlarged it to 1000 x 933 pix and lightened it slightly (using Photostudio) then sharpened it (using Picasa). The sharpening doesn’t show very well, hear, I think.

2nd stage

2nd stage

Then I, again in Picasa, I used the “Saturation” feature and increased the colour saturation  and this produced the 3-D effect and a sort of hjologram appearance.

3rd stage

3rd stage

4th stage

4th stage

4th stage

5th stage

2 Comments

  1. azahar said,

    March 15, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Am presently downloading Photo Studio 5.5 … have often wanted to enlarge pics but Picasa doesn’t do that. Thanks!

  2. March 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Thank you for explaining this especially as I find PS Elements to be very difficult to use..This gives me some ideas…


Leave a Reply

