The bruise I can show, and the hands…

My left leg

2 Comments

  1. Mudhooks said,

    October 2, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    I only have the half cast on my right hand. I have the use of my right thumb, index and rude pointy finger but because of the length of the metal split/brace, I use the rude pointy finger (it is longer than my index). I hit the space bar with my thumb, sometimes, if it is easier.

    On my left, I can use only my thumb and index fingers but since the thumb really isn’t much use at the angle I have to hold me hand to keep the splint/brace thing from hitting the keys, I am left with my index finger.

    Even so, I will be typing away and discover that at some point the brace hit one of the control keys and I have been typing merrily away at nothing for several minutes…

    I can lift some things but it is sort of trial and error and I have to get Mom to do some things for me.

    I figure as long as you can pick you nose and wipe your ass, you are going to be all right. You do NOT want to know about the latter.

  2. azahar said,

    October 2, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    I don’t know how you are managing to do anything! I remember how difficult it was last year when I broke a tendon in one of my fingers and had a half-cast on for about three weeks, and I still had the use of my right hand.

    How long will you have the casts on? I wish I could be there to help – as long as I didn’t have to bend over or lift anything heavy. What a pair we’d make, eh?


Leave a Reply

