Home-made iPhone Macro Lens

After reading a few posts about using the lens from a laser-pointer to make a macro lens for your iPhone, I decided to try it out. I took the lens out of the pointer, used a medium-sized paperclip to hold the lens, and placed the paperclip between my Roots case and my phone the lens can then be adjusted over the phone’s lens. Hey! Presto! A macro lens.

I would like to build the larger microscope but I am carpentry-challenged, so may have to have someone do that for me.

I have done a little experimenting and here are a few of the resulting images.

2013-11-30

IMG_3494Macro of one of my polymer brooches

I’ve really latched onto the bright colours, courtesy of the Mextures iPhone app.

3 Comments

  1. azahar said,

    January 4, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Very cool. I just heard about an “olloclip” for iPhones. Might get one.

    • mudhooks said,

      January 5, 2014 at 6:55 am

      Thanks, Shawn! I hadn’t heard of it but I just ordered one. I use my iPhone and iPad almost exclusively for taking photos. The mix of apps makes it possible to really create images that I am very pleased with.

      Now I have to get a photo printer that does the images justice.

    • mudhooks said,

      January 15, 2014 at 10:21 am

      So I ordered the Olloclip and the next night my friend gave me a case for my phone that includes a macro lens. I didn’t have the heart to tell her I’d ordered the lenses….I have no idea how to tell her.

      Oh…and the Olloslip is great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

