12 Comments

  1. Peggy Baker said,

    June 28, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Looking to locate Ellis Island nurses from 1948. Does anyone know of any that are still alive?

    • mudhooks said,

      June 28, 2013 at 10:04 pm

      I don’t know any. There is a national memorial for women who served with the Military. You might try them. I am sure they must have a message board or forum for vets.

      • Peggy Baker said,

        June 28, 2013 at 10:06 pm

        Thank you. I am searching really for any nurse or doctor or social worker who may have been involved the adoption of a child born there. I will try that. thanks.

        • mudhooks said,

          June 29, 2013 at 12:20 am

          Ah. I see. I thought you meant nurses who might have been sent overseas from there. During WWI, it was where nurses were stationed before going overseas with the AEF. I don’t think that the suggestion I gave would be of much help. Have you tried contacting the Ellis Island archivist? They may have some information or at least some suggestions.

          • Peggy Baker said,

            June 29, 2013 at 12:22 am

            Thanks, yes.. unfortunately, Ellis Island no longer has records, but I have been working with a number of other organizations including the National Archives and Library of Congress. I am hoping to interview some people who worked there in 1948- slow going! I spoke with a pastor who was working there but he does not remember much. Thanks.

            • mudhooks said,

              June 29, 2013 at 12:26 am

              I see.

              Well, I was going to suggest the LDS but you likely have followed that up.

              If I can think of anything I will let you know.

              • Peggy Baker said,

                June 29, 2013 at 12:28 am

                Thanks. I appreciate it. There are some wonderful Ellis island records, but so far, nothing on my subject. Thanks again.

        • mudhooks said,

          June 29, 2013 at 12:24 am

          There is an email address for Ellis Island.

          http://www.nps.gov/elis/parkmgmt/staffandoffices.htm

  2. BelBel said,

    October 8, 2012 at 1:30 am

    I always log out and shut down my PC when I don’t work/play/dabble at it, but so far I’ve never had a problem like that. Do you clear your cache regularly?

  3. kizeal said,

    September 14, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Dear Mudpuddle, I read a comment you left on an Ellis Island website about your ex-mother in law being a nurse on Ellis Island. I am writing a novel set in 1916 on Ellis Island about a young nurse and wonder if you have any other information on her experiences there. Please email me at k.leverence@att.net. Look forward to hearing from you.

  4. azahar said,

    August 3, 2012 at 1:52 am

    No idea. This has never happened to me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

