PhotoHunter: Low

I decided to do a bit of a stretch on the theme for this week’s PhotoHunter…

The theme is Low. I was born in Wakefield, Quebec, which is just a bit south of Low, Quebec. See where I am headed with this? Just south of Low… or… Wait for it… A bit lower than Low. HA!

Here are a few photos of Wakefield…

The covered bridge, Wakefield

The covered bridge, Wakefield

The former hospital, where I was born.

The former hospital, where I was born....

…specifically, the room on the second floor peeking out from behind the branches.

Powwow, Harvets Festival, Wakefield, QC

Powwow, Harvest Festival, Wakefield, QC

The old railway line which used to go up to Low, QC

The old railway line which used to go up to Low, QC

… still used by the old steam train, but only to carry tourists as far as the old station in Wakefield.

AND, as I completely forgot to mention when I initially posted this… This stretch of rail featured in Buster Keaton’s last film “The Railrodder”. In a bit of creative license, Buster, travelling west on the CN rail line passes through Ottawa and then heads up through the Gatineau Hills and through Wakefield would have headed up past Low. If you haven’t seen the film, here is your chance. The National Film Board of Canada has the full film available and I present it below my photos.

Once you have watched it, be sure to check out other amazing Canadian animated, short, documentary, and other films from the NFB! Ottawa, as it was when I was small comes in at 7:26 and Wakefield follows shortly after.

Looking at the town from across the tracks at the old train station

Looking at the town from across the tracks at the old train station.

more about “The Railrodder by Gerald Potterton, -…“, posted with vodpod
22 Comments

  1. gjsnyderphoto said,

    October 2, 2010 at 8:37 am

    I realize this ppost is old but just wanted to say love the shot of the cover bridge. That being said you may recognize the photo on my sight ww.gregsnyderphotography.ca I’ve only lived in Wakefield for about 18 months and we love it.

    • mudhooks said,

      October 2, 2010 at 11:20 am

      Thanks! You photo is WONDERFUL! So beautiful and moody!

  2. azahar said,

    August 11, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Hmmm, looked at this on Saturday but clearly forgot to leave a message.

    How cool that you can still see the very room you were born in!

  3. magiceye said,

    August 10, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    lovely take!

  4. Melusine said,

    August 9, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Nice images and interesting reading, inventive post!

  5. CY said,

    August 9, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Great site and cool pics. Land of the OZ, wish I was there. Take care, have a great weekend. From a friend in Bangkok.

    http://tangcyee.com/?p=817

    CY

  6. August 8, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Lovely photo perspective of “Low.” I love looking at and learning about other places.

    Mine’s up, too! I hope you can visit.
    Have a great weekend!
    Mrs. Mecomber

    http://newyorktraveler.net

  7. Heidi said,

    August 8, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I love your use of the theme this week. It was definatley a challenging one for me! Your photo’s are great! If you want to check out mine they are at http://cakecrumbs-heidi.blogspot.com/

  8. Christi said,

    August 8, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    I loved you take on the theme. I never knew there is a town named Low, but it is perfect. I especially loved the Pow-wow, you can literally see their movement! Have a blessed weekend and thanks for stopping by,

    Christi

    • mudhooks said,

      August 8, 2009 at 10:02 pm

      You might want to check my post, again. I COMPLETELY forgot to add something to the post.

  9. Kylie said,

    August 8, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Great take on it! hehe .. and beaut photos, just lovely! Happy Photohunt!

    http://www.mischief-and-mayhem.com/blog/?p=1178

  10. August 8, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    No, it wasn’t the beer talking. It was creativity doing the work. Looks like a quaint place. Love the caption that says “The old railway line that used to go UP to LOW…” Seems like a contradiction, doesn’t it?

    http://blondesherry.blogspot.com/2009/08/ph-low.html

    • mudhooks said,

      August 8, 2009 at 9:45 pm

      There is actually a children’s book by a local author (a friend of my mother’s), called “Up to Low”. It talks about taking the old train up to Low, amongst other things. When I was a child, you could still take the train from the old railway station across from the Chateau Laurier, the CN hotel, in Ottawa all the way up there.

      In fact, if you ever saw the Buster Keaton film “The Railrodder” (his last film) you would have seen the stretch of rail I photographed. They used a bit of creative license in depicting Wakefield as part of the journey out west by rail (as well as the trip from the old railway station — now a conference centre at risk of being demolished over my dead body!!!– and then across the Ottawa River).

      I forgot to add that to my posting! How silly! What a great film that is. You must see it if you haven’t already! I will add that bit of history in a moment!

  11. Anna said,

    August 8, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I love your take on this theme!!

    The last shot is amazing!!
    Have a great weekend :)

    Anna

  12. ann chin said,

    August 8, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Here in Auckland, we have a Wakefield street. Wakefield must have been a very important person.

    I was in Windsor in 1975-77, so i like Canada,

    • mudhooks said,

      August 8, 2009 at 10:10 pm

      I think Wakefield is named after the English town, as is your Wakefield, likely. A lot of towns in this area are named after English towns, like Hull,,,, Despite their being in Quebec, this part of Quebec is mostly English-speaking, despite being forced by Quebec law to display French signs, only. A sore spot for me, since I was born there and would love to live there but won’t because of the language laws.

      I forgot to add an important piece of history to my post. I have rectified that.

  13. YTSL said,

    August 8, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Teehee re your creative take on the theme. And thanks for the geography lessons — including re the existence of a town named Low in Canada! :)

  14. Gemma said,

    August 8, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Unbelievable that there is a place called Low (without an “e” !) Perfect opportunity to show a range of scenic photos all connected to Low by default! This is hilarious!

  15. Brita said,

    August 8, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Haha! Great take on the theme, that is just perfect! And on the last picture the water is also lower…

    • mudhooks said,

      August 8, 2009 at 12:30 pm

      I think in this case, the bank is actually higher… Lol…

  16. August 8, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Haha I love your take on the theme. Good one!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

