PhotoHunter: Belated Utensil….

This is a day late and, unusually for me, short and sweet. My favorite utensil, either by type and specifically…

My pair of stainless steel chopsticks. Purchased at a shop in Trenton, Ontario, they are stylish, simple, sturdy, and easily cleaned and popped into my purse when I go out to eat sushi or Chinese food.

Les Chopsticks....

Les Chopsticks....

photohunter7iq1

I was just looking at the word “Utensil”… what an odd word! Ever look at a word and think… “Is that right? It just looks wrong!”?

AND… every time I typed it, I spelled it “untensil”. How very odd!

Main Entry:
uten·sil           Listen to the pronunciation of utensil
Pronunciation:
\y-ˈten(t)-səl, ˈyü-ˌ\
Function:
noun
Etymology:
Middle English, vessels for domestic use, from Middle French utensile, from Latin utensilia, from neuter plural of utensilis useful, from uti to use
Date:
14th century

1 : an implement, instrument, or vessel used in a household and especially a kitchen

2 : a useful tool or implement
So… an untensil would perhaps be an unuseful tool?

9 Comments

  1. zeusiswatching said,

    August 2, 2009 at 7:45 am

    They seem simple, elegant, even glamorous.

    I love eating with chopsticks. My parents would take us to a Chinese restaurant almost every weekend for years (my parents were friends of the owners) and we three American kids learned to eat with chopsticks very early on. A few decades on, and it seems more common to see Americans using chopsticks. I view it as progress.

    The ornamental, but functional Chinese chopsticks are just a regular part of our dishes to be cleaned around our house. The Japanese kind find their way into our house from innumerable trips to the Sushi bar.

    • mudhooks said,

      August 2, 2009 at 8:15 am

      There are p[laces in town where you just get a fork set out in front of you. Typically, these serve the standard Chicken Balls and Chop Suey. Any of the restaurants I choose to go to serve authentic dishes.

      Luckily, there are a rising number of Sushi, Vietnamese, Korean, and Thai places in town, though some of the really good Chinese places have been pushed out by them. We also have a lot of “all you can eat” buffet places. Some of them are better than others and I only like the once where you can get a lot of traditional dishes instead of the standard “Canadian chinese” stuff.

      Mom, unfortunately just can;t get the hang of chop stick, though she tries valiantly.

  2. azahar said,

    July 28, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    I love eating with chopsticks. Very nice, Anneke-san.

    • mudhooks said,

      July 28, 2009 at 11:21 pm

      I was going to include a chopstick rest but all the ones I have are sort of traditional-looking ones. I have to get a more “industrial” looking one for these.

      I have been looking for a pair of “training” chopsticks for my mother. She just can’t maneuver them. Training ones either have a plastic or rubbery doohickey attached at the apex of the chopsticks or are actually attached. Either way, I have yet to find any.

  3. magiceye said,

    July 27, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    always thought chopsticks were made of bamboo only!

    cheers

    • mudhooks said,

      July 27, 2009 at 7:51 pm

      No. They come in all sorts of materials. Plastic, wood, bamboo, lacquered wood or bamboo, even ivory (antique, of course!), gold, silver, and jade….

  4. July 27, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Very convenient! I’ve lost the knack of chopsticks sadly

  5. Marites said,

    July 27, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    using chopsticks takes some practise:) I should do well being exposed earlier to Chinese food eating but I always seem to prefer fork and spoon than those. my Ph is up too.

  6. July 27, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Interesting information…stainless steel you say? That would be the best way of getting and keeping them clean. It made me think of my 4 year old daughter and her using chopsticks at our favorite Chinese place. I could never get it right, but she had no problems….Michelle


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

